Cee’s Share Your World – 2016 Week 5

Prompts and Challenges
20160117-DSCF3712-HDR-Edit copy

New Day, Old Trucks

Among Cee’s weekly challenges is her Share Your World challenge.  I always forget it’s on Monday so I’m always late. The story of my life. Anyway, here are her questions and my answers.

If you had a shelf for your three most special possessions (not including photos, electronic devices and things stored on them, people or animals), what would you put on it?

Well, my wife is already on the top shelf. And I have to genuflect at her feet every day- which is not easy for a guy with a bad knee. So once I get down there, I usually stay for awhile. The next shelf would have (wait, what? No electronic devices? This is going to be harder than I thought) books, then food and wine! We could change my answer to be wine on the bottom shelf, then food on the second shelf, then books on the third and get rid of my wife, because the rules say no people. But I promise you, she won’t be happy about it.

If you had a box labelled ‘happiness’, what would you put in it?

My wife, of course. But she’s a bit claustrophobic. So it would have to be a big box, at least 750 square feet, I would think. And she’s adamant that there be two bathrooms so she doesn’t have to wait. But I think I have to wait more often than she does!

What do you want more of in your life?

Time and mobility. What’s the good having all the time in the world but not being mobile enough to enjoy it? I watched my grandfather live to be 92 years old but he did not enjoy those last few years of his life when he had to rely on me to take him anywhere and everywhere.

Daily Life List: What do you do on an average day? Make a list of your usual activities you do each day.

Every day I wake up. Go back to sleep. Then wake up again. Every day. Then, depending on which day it is, it will vary. During the week I work. Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays I try to leave early and go to the gym. On the weekends we will usually take one day to go on a day trip to take photos! In the evenings, we go to bed after dinner. Sometimes before dinner. No television as we don’t own one.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last weekend we had to drive into California for a family gathering so we left at 8 am under a beautiful blue sky with puffy clouds. By the time we got 2 hours south, it started raining. Buckets! Cats and dogs! And the gusting winds tossed our car left and right. And the desert sand was pelting us. On the way back home at night it was more of the same. So what am I grateful for? For still being here! In the week coming up? We will be moving on March 1, so most of the weeks before that will be taken over by packing and getting rid of stuff!

Thanks to anyone who read all the way through. I appreciate it!

43 thoughts on “Cee’s Share Your World – 2016 Week 5

    1. We’re in Henderson now. That’s south of Las Vegas. We are moving to North Las Vegas, about 25 miles away. When we got married in 2012 Lynn’s mortgage was cheap so we were keeping both homes and renting her’s out. But her variable mortgage just went up by about 100% and we can’t get enough rent for hers any longer. So we’re selling mine. Her’s is still so far underwater that we can’t afford to sell it. Make any sense?

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Emilio~~ thank you so very much for your visit and kind comment. It is how I found you here, and I am so glad I did!! 🙂
    My goodness, how this post made me smile, especially the part about your wife being on the top shelf.
    Thank you for the smiles, and I look forward to seeing you here again soon.

    P.S. I love this photograph! Such beautiful color and light.

    Like

  2. Love the image and enjoyed your humorous comments about genuflecting at your wife’s feet lol. Good man you are. 😉 Wait…you’re moving to California??? Where?? Near me?????

    Like

        1. Well, as of this morning, we have a plan. A road trip tomorrow, then working on packing and cleaning up all day Sunday. I just feel soooo bad that I have to work during the week and Lynn will have to do most of the packing on her own.

          Liked by 1 person

            1. Yes. I am working. And last night, after the both of us worked all day, we had a fire in the backyard after dinner- which I made because she was cleaning while I only packed books and cd’s. And, by the way, we did go on that day trip Saturday. We left the house around 8:30 am and returned at 7:30 at night.

              Liked by 1 person

        1. This will not do. It’s my blog and you must obey the rules. No disagreeing with the poster. But I’ll let you off on the technicality that your not really disagreeing with me, just pointing out my error. Wait. I think that’s in the rules, too!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Haha I didn’t disagree with you! You know her and I don’t. I’m just a literal-minded geek who can’t help herself from pointing out these things. I will try to refrain in the future.

            Like

  3. Good luck with the packing and the move. I’ve never moved very often, so I have this lasting impression that it is very exciting.
    ok – packing is NOT exciting, but moving is!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

