Cardinal Rule

Prompts and Challenges

On the way to Red Rock Canyon
Calico Basin Road
Fujifilm X-T1
January 29, 2016

Cardinal Guzman runs a year long challenge called The Changing Seasons and the rules are simple. You can read them by clicking on the link above. But, basically, you are to:

“Find a location near your home, take somewhere between 5-20 photos and post them in a gallery in your blog. Continue to do this every month. … Just keep the project going throughout the year. Try to shoot every month, so that in the end of the year, you’ll have a nice and diverse set of photos in your portfolio. The idea is to capture all the changes: the seasons, the weather, different times of the day, some night photography perhaps?

Now, since I live in Nevada, it must be understood that our seasons are summer- when the daily temperature is above 100 degrees- and not summer- when the daily temperature is below 100 degrees. Therefore, all photos will appear to have been taken during the same season. But I promise they will be taken within one month of each post. Also, I tend to believe that posting a gallery of 5- 20 photos at a time diminishes the effect of the photos. So I will usually only post one photo a month. I hope no one objects.

37 thoughts on “Cardinal Rule

    1. Thanks, PJ. I think I’ll do one large image each month and, at the end of each post a cumulative slide show gallery. So February will have the two images already published, March will have three. Etc.

      Like

  1. Great photo. There you go being subtle again with those tire tracks crossing lanes. And then you add a mystery to the subtlety as the tracks look like they belong to the car that should be coming toward you, but it’s not clear if the car on the road is in the right lane coming toward you as it should, or driving away on the wrong side of the road. Beautiful landscape but all may not be quite right with it. Subtlety and mystery that adds to the interest.

    Since you have summer and not quite summer, find a construction site, and photograph it from the same place weekly. If it’s a big project, that takes months or over a year, then you can put together a cool series and a time lapse gif.

    My wife takes a photograph of the Sandias and Rio Grande with her cellphone every morning while out on her run, and they rarely look the same from one day to the next.

    Like

    1. Tim, just like I tell my wife all the time, you’re thinking too much. And, like I don’t tell her ever, you’re giving me way too much credit. I didn’t plan anything in the shot. The tire tracks and car were all a happy accident. I was going to delete the tire tracks but was too lazy and you then make me into some kind of mad subtle genius. Which, don’t get me wrong, I like! My first idea was to do exactly as you suggest. There is a lot of building of homes and street widening where we live that I thought would be interesting to concentrate on for the year. But then I remembered we will be moving across town and I will not be anywhere near here throughout the rest of the year on a regular basis. So the area I picked is about ten minutes from where I work and will be on the way home starting in April!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shhh! Don’t say you didn’t plan the shot. You saw it and you got it. The tire tracks and car where there, you might have chosen the spot more by accident, but you chose the spot, you made the photo, you own the results.

        You can see how the tire marks change over a year along with other elements in the scene.

        Like

        1. I planned this shot. I sat out there all day just waiting for the right kind of car to come by, driven just a bit too fast. I was so deliberate in getting the driver to veer out of his lane into oncoming traffic as he skidded, hence the tire tracks.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Don’t be dense. Just take credit for what people find in your photo is the point I’m trying to make. The timing happened to be right, and those two elements I pointed out make it one of a kind. Otherwise, anyone can stand at that same spot, and get the same scene. The tire tracks and the car are what makes it much more interesting. I don’t know Emilio! I give up.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous shot! No objections here. I love the beauty of Red Rock Canyon and look forward to your series. Sounds like a fun project, I may have to join in. Have a wonderful week!

    Like

  3. Wow, amazing nature! I love the red rocks, the grey sky, and the way you placed the road in this photo.

    A great job by nature and you!

    And a pretty cool idea by Cardinal Guzman 🙂

    Keep up the great work!

    Kind regards,
    Tieme

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

