Kanosh, Begosh

Gallery

Kanosh--12I bet you’ve never heard of Kanosh, Utah. Well, neither had we. But now we’ll never forget it. On our way home from a mini vacation visiting family and friends, we had been on the road for about 3 hours already when we spotted an old farm house on the opposite side of the freeway. My wife wanted me to turn around but there was no exit. She kept insisting that the light was going to be great in about an hour. “Golden hour”, like I had taught her. She wouldn’t let up, even when we were now about 10 or 15 miles further down the road. “Take this exit”! she demanded. I know better than to argue when she takes that tone of voice. Sort of the tone a mother uses against an obstinate child! (We certainly have a strange relationship!) So we ended up in Kanosh, a rather deserted town in the middle of nowhere. We found an old wooden shack and I stopped the car and walked on over to discover it was not abandoned but was occupied by a family of pigs and one huge black rabbit. We then drove around to discover the town and found the scene above. We just looked at each other and smiled. My wife said, “you want to kiss my feet now?” No, not really. But the light, the cars, the house, the camera, my wife, all were just perfect that day!

66 thoughts on “Kanosh, Begosh

                1. Leo McKern. He made a great crusty old Rumpole. Looks like the series ran for 17 years.I haven’t had TV since 1982, so I hadn’t seen any episodes after that time, but I’m sure Rumpole’s available on Youtube and services like Neflix.

                  Like

                    1. I don’t have Netflix either. I have Amazon prime because we buy so many books and stuff we can’t find locally, but I’ve never tried Amazon’s Prime video service. They pester me about it, but I just don’t want to take the time to watch movies. I haven’t watched a movie in over a year now. I watch snippets of things on Youtube now and then and that’s about it. I have a lot of ADD when it comes to watching movies.

                      Liked by 1 person

  1. The key to a successful marriage is the old line “if mama ain’t happy, nobody’s happy” or something like that anyway 😉 You certainly made the right decision on so many levels in listening to Lynn! Truly gorgeous photo with that wonderful sidelight! I love the grasses in the foreground too. And as Laura said above, perfect post-processing! Well done, both of you 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Frank. The photo in my head was nothing like this when I first saw it. I tried various angles and exposures and I still think I want to make it a bit darker. But it’s hard to tell from one monitor to the next. I’ll be making a print on metal soon.

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

