Shannon’s Creative Photo Challenge: Nighttime

Prompts and Challenges

This is my contribution to Shannon’s Creative Photo Challenge to which the topic is nighttime. I came across this challenge by way of Cee Neuner’s post this week. Go take a look at Cee’s and Shannon’s work. You know you want to!

Canon EOS Rebel T2i 18mm f/5.6 at 1/8 sec ISO 6400

Canon EOS Rebel T2i 18mm
f/5.6 at 1/8 sec ISO 6400

This is more or less a cheat. It is a night time shot, but not a real waterfall. It is man made and has a bright yellow light illuminating it at night. I had to work at getting the yellow cast out of the original and toning down the contrast. All in all I like the results. Hope you do, too.

44 thoughts on “Shannon’s Creative Photo Challenge: Nighttime

  1. 🙂 Very nice– initially (until I read your write up) all I could think was how much I would LOVE to swim in this!! … but now… well yea, I’d still like to! 🙂

    Like

  2. We’ll, I wouldn’t call it cheating unless the challenge was to go out into nature in the middle of the night and find a real waterfall with a nice pool reflecting the moonlight that West would like to swim in. But since the challenge only seems to deal with “nighttime”, then you have done a great job of taking up the challenge! Really nice image. Actually, you shouldn’t have told so much about your process of making it. It just lead to a pool of broken dreams. You created a beautiful and tantalizing image that made West dream about swimming in the beautiful waters in your photo, then you broke her dreams and made her think twice about it by telling too much about how you created the final image. Let there be mystery to your photos — let the dreamers dream and the curious can ask how you did it if they really want to know.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Geez, I feel so bad about West and her broken dreams. You’re right, Tim. That’s basically why I stopped doing challenges where you tell each step of your processing. WEST, I’M SORRY!! Come back! I was only joking. I had to hike 20 miles through the back country and almost got bit by a snake and then I came upon this limpid pool lit only by the light of a harvest moon. Couldn’t find my way back out and had to camp there for close to three weeks until the snow melted. Ate black eyed beetles the size of my fist. Used their antennae as toothpicks!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. But seriously. Like I’ve said before, and will say again, there is really no cheating as long as you are not stealing someone else’s photo.

        It’s nice to enjoy a photograph for what it says to you personally, let your imagination go and get lost in the image. If someone is curious about the process then tell that person how you did if you wish to. Unless there is some real need to explain your process, let an image stand on its own for whatever the good, the bad, the ugly, the mystery, the glory may be, make the photo and turn it loose on the world without all the gory details about how it was made.

        Sometime photos need an explanation to for the location, the setting or particular circumstances, but again, you can let the curious inquire about the details.

        Like

        1. Thanks, for the advice, Tim. You know, you’re getting to be like the big brother I never had. And I appreciate it. I think you’re right in keeping the mystery, yet sometimes my ego gets in the way and I have to brag about how creative or smart I think I am. It’s a curse! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. But the creativeness and smartness comes out in your photos!

            I went through art school at the university where the main goal was to beat the ego out of our creativity. In those days we were brutal when it came to critiquing each other’s work.

            Then I was fortunate enough to work for a really good photographer who taught me some of his secrets, but he always told me to secrets be secrets. What we did in the lab could just be a mystery to our clients. “Let them say ‘Wow!’ and if they ask how we did it just tell them ‘Magic!’ and go on to discussing the next photo.” That was long before digital cameras and Photoshop.

            Like

              1. Do you want my age in human years or photographic years? As if it matters, right? Either one I’m over the hills and far away.

                Like

  3. Your explanation reminds me of all the Hollywood film sets we fell for, and it didn’t matter at all. Not with the good ones anyway. So I don’t really see where the cheating is either, we all know you live out in Las Vegas and love that you are making the best of it. Great shot!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Patti. I needed that. But Hollywood never used to tell how they created the magic until the last decade or so. So for the next decade I’m not going to tell about my processing. Unless someone asks nicely.! 🙂

      Like

  4. Oh, spoiler! You shouldn’t have revealed that it is an artificial waterfall! It just feels different after knowing the truth 🙂 But the first impression counts and I love this at first sight. Awesome shot!

    Like

        1. I don’t think you can do it on the phone. You need to use a slow shutter speed, the slower the smoother the water. And you would need a tripod because you cannot hand hold the camera at that speed.

          Like

  5. Man-made or not, it’s one beautiful waterfall Emilio! I wouldn’t mind having one like this at my swimming pool.

    Excellent capture and whatever you did with the editing process, you did it wonderfully. You are truly a master at it. 😀

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

