Get Lucky!

Prompts and Challenges

 

Overton trestle-

Overton NV August 22, 2015 Fujifilm X-T1 23mm f/2.8 at 1/3200 sec ISO 200

Sometimes you get lucky. Sometimes you’re forced into taking a shot within a short window of time or with the lighting not quite right or too much going on in the background so you’re forced to crop or shoot close-up or with a shallow depth of field. And you get home and take a look at the shot and, Whoa! It’ s one of the best you’ve ever taken. In your opinion. And that’s really all you should go by. What pleases you as the artist. Lord knows we are always complaining about the shot we almost got. You know, the one that got away. So enjoy when you get something you actually like. That happened to me  just recently. There was a train trestle that was 6 feet above ground and I could only shoot it from one side. So I had to climb up, over, and then under the trestle to grab the shot. When I looked at it I could not believe how much I loved the leading lines and the rough texture of wood and, well, there it is. I love it! So if you don’t, that’s OK. Because I do!

Now show me yours!

39 thoughts on “Get Lucky!

  1. Well, I was thinking about cliff defences earlier today (long story) and years ago I got some great lines….I thought so, anyway…..now I have to search my archives, may take a day or too as I’m not feeling great at present

    Like

  2. Wow, as you said, such detail in the gorgeous leading line of the tracks, Emilio. I’m impressed by your physical prowess and am just glad nothing “untoward” happened while you were engrossed in getting your wonderful shot! Haven’t you heard the PSAs about taking pictures on train tracks??

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this shot Emilio 🙂 The only thing that would have made it more dramatic is if you tied some beautiful woman up and did a “damsel in distress” shot 🙂 (don’t try this at home kids remember we’re professionals, LOL). Great work.

    Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

