For Stacy

Gallery
San Luis Obispo CA September 7, 2015 Fuji X-T1 f/1.6 at 1/1700 sec ISO 200 23 mm

San Luis Obispo CA
September 7, 2015
Fuji X-T1
f/1.6 at 1/1700 sec ISO 200
23 mm

My friend Stacy of Visual Venturing was concerned with whether or not I am still using my Fuji- a camera I recently purchased- because I am currently posting images taken with my Canon EOS Rebel T2i. Well, I love the Fuji, but the learning curve is a bit steep. At least for me. I’ve had the Canon since 2010 and am very comfortable with it. Plus I am way behind in processing. And I am nothing like my friend Joe Giordano of The Visual Chronicle who now shoots mostly in jpeg with his Fuji and limits his processing because of the quality of the images he gets. I still post process because I enjoy it almost as much as shooting. I shoot fully manual with the Canon, aperture priority with the Fuji. I use Lightroom and Perfect Effects and Topaz.

I am still avoiding Photoshop.

36 thoughts on “For Stacy

    1. Thanks, Susan! I have to agree. I couldn’t wait to upgrade from my starter T2i and now find that I use it just as much as I do the Fuji. And the images are just as good or bad. The T2i just seems to need a bit more tweaking in post.

      Like

    1. The fun, yes. I just went though processing with my wife this morning, showing her the difference between sooc and post. She says it just gets her confused and can not understand why I enjoy it. She would just post the sooc. I think it’s safe to say we see things differently! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The photo has a real 3D look which is really nice. My wife and I got pieces accepted in a local fine arts show, and one thing we noticed about the show is that almost all the photographs are processed to look like paintings, except for my photo which is straight B&W that I printed from a negative, and most of the paintings are very realistic and photo-like, except for my wife’s water color on card stock which is very loose, more abstract, almost cubist. In some ways we are like dinosaurs — yet with our mediums and styles being so different from the rest we might just be on the cutting edge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like that, Timothy! I always thought I was on the cutting edge. I just wasn’t sure which edge it was. I feel much better now. Congratulations on both you and your wife’s showings. I just got my first paying job as a photographer this past week. Maybe a show will be next for me, too. Just one image would be great with me.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Congratulations on landing a paying photo job! I rarely enter photos in contests or shows, and I’ll only enter if the contest or show is juried. I can’t deal with the contests where the winning photo is the one that gets to most votes from the public or members of a forum, etc.

        Like

        1. I would agree. I would just love to have something in a gallery, even of local artists or in the library here in town. I don’t know why. I love the feedback and people here. Even- especially- the negative comments when they are delivered positively! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    1. John, I would love to. Let me check my notes on it and get back to you. I always start in Lightroom with adjusting highlights and shadows, blacks and whites. As I remember, it was a very contrast day so I probably fooled with contrast and clarity. Most times I will then go into Perfect Effects and play around. But I just purchased Topaz- though I doubt I used it on this.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. OK, John. As I mentioned, I did my usual in Lightroom and adjusted the white balance to adda bit of yellow, then exported to Perfect Effects where I added a Bleach Bypass filter at 50% which darkened the buildings. Then a subtle HDR effect. I added a black & white filter at 50% called Chrome which has a lot of clarity and tones down the colors. I then imported back to Lightroom and added some pink to the clouds, opened the shadows a bit more, darkened the street with a radial filter, cropped, and added a vignette. Ta-daaa! Hope you can make sense of this.

          Like

            1. From what I’ve heard Nik effects beats out everyone else in B&W. but all these different programs I have I am now learning to use sparingly. It’s so easy to over-process. I got Perfect Effects only because they were offering it for free over a year ago. And when they updated, I became a paying customer. Good luck, John. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the huge tree in this street scene, a beautiful shot Emilio! I think it takes a bit of time to get comfortable with a Fuji camera. And there seems to be something really comforting shooting with a big DSLR. 🙂

    Like

  3. I love this photo-especially that tree. Of course the buildings are great, and the clouds (which I have no idea whether to credit God or you) but the twistiness of the trunk and branches are so intriguing.

    Like

    1. I have no idea what type of tree they are but they line the streets there. And they are gorgeous. As for the clouds, I might have had a hand in that. But the trees are all God. And maybe a bit of landscaping.

      Like

  4. Wow! I’m in a title 🙂 Okay, I know I said I’d be right over to visit your post, like, what, a week ago? My bad, but truly, I haven’t been paying much attention to WordPress this past week – my blog has been on autopilot with scheduled posts because of all the travel I’ve been doing. Now, that’s no excuse for me not picking up on your shoutout, (thanks for that!) or more importantly, on this wonderful T1 image! I LOVE this image, Emilio – the tree is so awesome, and the light and shadows are beautiful. I also like the color palette, and the post-processing balances well with the scene. I’d say you’re doing quite well with the Fuji, my friend! Keep at it, cuz I’ll need pointers from you and Joe down the road when I finally spring for the T1 – I sometimes do miss having a true telephoto lens….

    Like

  5. Boy, I tell you I thought I was going to have to get a search party out for you but then realized you’re an empty nester now and probably not at home much anymore. Do you guys take any meals at home now? Or is it one long party? I’ve been loving the images you’ve been posting and am envious. I had a disastrous shoot last weekend and have asked Joe for feedback. OK, I’m being melodramatic. It wasn’t disastrous but the T1 seemed to have a mind of its own. Most photos were overexposed. Anyway, I’m glad you’re alive! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Hope Joe straightened you out! I had a glitch with my 100T in the way to my night shoot at Alcatraz – the ISO setting seemed to be doing something different and weird. Joe immediately answered my text and all was saved 🙂

    As for empty nesting, yup, it’s one long party 🎉. Shhh, don’t tell my daughter I said so 😉 Thanks for liking the images ❤️

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

