One Four Challenge September Week 2

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

OK, folks! This was a semi “spont” exploration. We decided to head south on the I-15 (heading towards California) and take every exit to see what we would find. Since the freeway traverses mostly desert for it’s first 200 or so miles, we had a general idea what we would find: nothing, lots of dirt, lots of cacti, and lots of old, deserted buildings and machinery. We were not disappointed. But rather than bore you with any of that stuff, I plan on boring you with the freeway itself. Actually, under the freeway. I loved this spot we found. The noise of the cars and trucks passing over head was earth shaking and seemed somehow dangerous. So here we are: Under the freeway!

20150808-Baker to Yermo-0187-Edit-2-Edit-3-Edit

Week 1

Since I was on vacation last weekend (actually at a wedding in Paso Robles CA) I am late in posting Week 1. As above, it is the closest to straight out of the camera that you will see this month. It was adjusted for highlights, shadows, blacks and whites, then an overexposed area was cloned out lower left and a streak of light was added coming in from upper left. Below, for week 2, a preset was added called Dirty Dream. It added a bit of misty, out of focus haze, especially across the lower portion of the image that I liked. There is also another layer that adds depth to the effect.

Week 2

Week 2

So, please go visit Robyn’s Captivate Me to view the other submissions for this challenge. The first Sunday of each month starts it anew. You take one of your own photos and, each week, process it differently so that on the fourth week you end up with four different versions. Take a look at all the submissions and join in! 

52 thoughts on “One Four Challenge September Week 2

    1. I had a terrible time at the wedding. Well, not at the wedding itself, that was beautiful. But the reception went from 4 until well past 10. And no good food for the few vegetarians who attended- like me and my wife! It just went on way too long and I drank way too much.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww Poor Emilio ;). When my daughter got married I made sure there was plenty for my vegetarian friends to eat! And I feel for you.. About the last part, I think we have all been there ;)) and now that we r getting older.. It takes longer to recover . And My Hubby and I are the first to come and the first to leave !

        Like

    1. I’ll let you in on a little secret, I was trying to process this a bit differently than what I usually do and everything looked good to me. No matter how extreme I processed it, it still looked very real. Maybe it was just the nature of the concrete. No sky or vegetation of note. So, since I had 4 versions already- maybe even twice that- I decided to use it for the one four challenge.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great place to take an image, so much potential here! I like your first version a lot, the softer misty effect with the really strong structural lines of the pillars didnt work so well for my personal preference – you needed a fairy wafting thru too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! very unusual for me. I’ve seen a lot of shots from under piers with the ocean. But we have no water. And really no piers. So you learn to improvise. Maybe I could photoshop a roaring surf crashing against the pillars? Yeah, I know, I’m getting carried away! 🙂

      Like

  2. First I just love the image you chose. It’s really cool. – I like the feeling of (depth) in the shot very much. Both edits are really great but I think I’m leaning towards the 1st edit just a little more. It just has a more gritty, urban like feel to me that I find appealing for some reason if that makes sense.

    Like

  3. I really like both edits. Fun and eye appealing! I don’t even think I have presets in my Photoshop CS5. But that seems crazy as there must be right? I think I just don’t know about all the things I can do yet…. huh. Well, sounds like your wandering on and off of the exits was at least interesting for this one stop! Great idea. And, as for the wedding, I hope you are all recovered and fed by now. 🙂

    Like

      1. Man, I have so much to learn. I have Lightroom but think its an old version and it doesn’t seem to offer much. Or, I am just clueless on how to do things with it. I have a feeling that I am doing things the hard way though. So, I really need to check into these other options and expand my knowledge.

        Like

  4. This is such an eye catching image with all it’s wonderful texture and the monotone feel..and all of those posts..and the graffiti. Fantastic!
    The shaft of light is great and I think it seems enhanced in the 2nd version.
    I really like them both. With the dreamy effect added to the 2nd, it looks a lot like water under the bridge.
    Cant wait to see what you do next 😀

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

