Friday Night Light

Prompts and Challenges, Uncategorized
Fujifilm X-T1 1/30 sec at f/1.4  ISO 200 23mm (XF23 mm F 1.4 R) September 1, 2015

Fujifilm X-T1
1/30 sec at f/1.4 ISO 200
23mm (XF23 mm F 1.4 R)
September 1, 2015

I am a vegetarian, have been for almost half my life. So when I wanted a leather chair because I liked the look of it, I bought a pleather one instead. I’m sure that pleather, or artificial leather, is somehow harmful to the environment or is detrimental to our health or has some other negative attribute that we should be concerned with. But at the time, I was only concerned with not sitting on the skin of a dead animal. Now that’s a rather obtuse introduction to the image above, but it was taken from the chair I just described. When ever I sit in it, it makes a squeaking noise. Whenever I move around, too. So when I sit in it I try not to move too much. This evening I had my camera and, rather than get up and try to take a shot of something interesting, I took one of our living room wall instead. This image is sooc, straight from the camera, with my Fujifilm X-T1 with the 23mm lens. I bracketed the shot and tried the merge in lightroom. But the exposure that the camera chose was better than the merge. All I did was add a post-crop vignette. Enjoy!

19 thoughts on “Friday Night Light

    1. Thanks, Amy. I was going to say it is HDR but then I read that HDR is a bit more complicated. So now I’m unsure. I know when you bracket with the Fuji, it takes one at the normal exposure, then 1 stop over, and 1 stop under exposed. You then select all 3 shots and in lightroom it takes the best sections of each and merges them into 1.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Im not accusing you of anything but…. you STOLE MY TITLE for my post tonight!! hahaha ~ oh well….

    Ok beautiful room and I like this ~ aside from it being a nice photograph – I like that it seems personal and warm …kindof casual-sharp …perfect for a Friday!!

    Like

    1. Well I didn’t actually steal your title. Yours has an ‘S’ at the end. Plural. Mine is singular. All the difference in the world. Plus, I like yours better! And thanks for the compliment. But there was actually a different photo I wanted to use. Same angle but the light was coming in from the blinds behind me and I liked the play of light and shadow across the cabinet. Oh, well.

      Like

  2. Love the intro too with your chair 😃
    ..and the photo of your home!
    I often do the same – photograph what I see. I like that its sooc.
    Have just acquired a small mirrorless myself – looking forward to some more learning 😃

    Like

  3. I can’t wait to see what you see with your new mirrorless, Robyn. I was at a wedding over the weekend and the photographer had two big Canons with even bigger lenses. Very impressive. But I do like my little Fuji. Now if I could just get over this inferiority complex. 🙂

    Like

    1. Well I might be dim but I’ve never been accused of being demure! Oh, you mean the photo. Yes, I was going to make it darker to just accentuate the light but I love that cabinet. I bought it when I was single for $150 secondhand.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL … I was hoping your wife was demure as in Victorian Vintage decor. The cabinet was what I focused on first. I used to have a house full of antiques many years ago. They have character and seem to speak in their silence. It was a great find.
        Oh … back to the photo … I liked the way it was lit. It gave the surroundings a mellow feeling. Great room … 😎

        Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

