Snow Jalopy

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges
Snow Jalopy Image By Robyn G. Post processing by Emilio P.

Snow Jalopy
Image By Robyn G.
Post processing by Emilio P.

So Robyn G. of Captivate Me suggested we  share an image of hers to post process. Actually, maybe I was the one to suggest it. Either way, we agreed. I have to give a special thank you to Stacy Fischer of Visual Venturing for running a challenge like this every first Friday of each month. Any way, I have no idea what Robyn did with her image, nor does she have any idea what I did. I do know that she did not use any Photoshop, only Lightroom, as did I. This was not agreed to before hand, it just happened that way. The only things I can tell you about what I did, short of my usual work flow, was to play with every individual hue, saturation, and luminance slider in HSL. Then I laid in about 20 or 25 highlights throughout with the radial filter. Hope you like it. Now, if you haven’t already, go see what Robyn did here. And thanks, Robyn, for a fun time. Next image is on me!

Oh, Robyn’s original photo?

20150712-Snow Jalopy-9548

40 thoughts on “Snow Jalopy

  1. I feel much better looking at your image Emilio. The original looks like Canadian winter and it is coming soon enough. Little light, little color. Thanks for a far happier image! 🙂 That’s the techno photo talk in me coming out.

    Like

  2. I prefer the original image. You’ve made it look warm, bright and sunny. The original image is cold and gloomy and desolate. Patches of the original “army green” outlines the rust on the truck, and the rake is a nice complimentary splash of red against the line of green grass and the green in the truck, framed by a light dusting of snow and heavy, overcast sky behind the trees.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow. And I found it too dark. I agree with the cold and gloomy and desolate but wanted to play against that. And the red rake you like seemed to distract from the main focus of the image. I just looked at Robyn’s processing and think she stayed closer to the cold, gloomy desolation. Please check hers out when you get the chance. And thanks, Timothy, for an honest critique!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. As she explains it’s the last light of day, so to me the original image shows that. I would have brought out the shadows a little on the truck, but I think the untouched original really fits the light and atmosphere for the time of day. There is nothing wrong with your processing or Robun’s, especially, since she was witness to the color of the truck, she probably has made it look closer to it’s color as her eyes saw it, even in the low light.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I understand you were not criticizing my actual processing and I am thankful that you helped me to see that sometimes you have to follow where an image leads. I think it was you who said, not too long ago, that I was going through photographic (or was it processing) puberty. This growing up is almost as much fun as the first time! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I didn’t think you would take it as criticism. It’s interesting what happens when the viewer has the original to compare. It’s fun to grow up multiple times with each new endeavor you take on.

            Like

    1. Thanks, Cindy. Maybe I should have stayed with the dark hues but I just found it too dark. I wanted to see what I was looking at. But I agree with you and Timothy even if I still like what I did. Does that make sense?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Good morning from me 😃
    This has been another fun collaboration!
    I quite like your grungy Jalopy basking in the sunlight and I knew I’d like the tones you used.
    The crop brings me in closer to the truck but let’s me know there is so much more beyond.
    I really like it 😄😄
    The original raw image (shown as JPEG?) is very dark. It was very dark at the time – almost end of the day and snowing – but you didn’t know any of that, so I like your interpretation.
    Looking forward to the next one!!
    So glad you mentioned AB Friday and One Photo Focus.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, Tim and Cindy prefer your original for just that very reason. The darkness. And that’s the first thing that I worked on, brightening the image. I think it’s great to hear what people like and what they first notice. I think I get carried away with what I can do with lightroom rather than dissecting the image and then seeing where that leads me. A good lesson. I really enjoyed this and hope we do it again soon. Thanks, Robyn!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a good lesson and to be honest I’m surprised that the darker image appeals, but I’m glad it does.
    Perhaps we might discuss the situation, time of day etc next time?
    I enjoyed it too and yes we should do it again. Thank You! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OK, my turn. I am going through my files tonight to find something for us. I will give you time and place and all kinds of technical data and then you go run with it. Meet me here in about a month. What’s your schedule like? Any idea?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your processing is really good, Emilio, and if I had not seen the original, I would like it as an old, rusted out truck and farm implement sitting abandoned as the weather cleared from a light dusting of snow. You not only changed the colors dramatically, you changed the atmosphere completely — you’ve given us a very good lesson in the power of post processing. All is fair in love and digital photography.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. That’s PS work like is really great. It illustrates the point I’ve been trying to make with people who think using raw images and adjusting them is cheating. My reply is they’ve never worked in a darkroom.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the idea of seeing 2 people work up the same image! Really shows how differently things can be processed. (Sorry, this is the first time I’ve seen this done, I’m a bit excited by it!)
    I like the way both of them are so different….hers, to me anyway, seems more “wintery” and yours seems to take advantage of the camouflages in nature and seems more like a treasure waiting to be found. Really enjoyed this little adventure, Emilio!

    Like

      1. OMG. Robyn. Thank you so much, but I’m nowhere near where you guys are with this post-processing world. It’s enough just for me to follow along right now and try and see some of the possibilities. I’m still very much BEGINNER on all this post-processing. But you made me feel so good! Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Robyn, who invited you to jump in? Oh, yeah. I think I did. OK, never mind. Torrie, no one is near Robyn nor me when it comes to post processing. That’s because we are all at different levels. Sometimes, when Robyn explains what she has done in post my eyes glaze over (sorry, Robyn) because I have no clue what she is talking about. I think you have to jump in feet first and “Just Do It”! The good thing about wordpress, and this challenge, is that- for the most part- everyone is very supportive. Please give it a try sometime. We’d love to see you submit something so we can tear you apart! 🙂 No, really. I will try to be on my best behavior.

          Like

  7. Impressive post processing. It was interesting reading the comments. I think that the original is too dark, and did need some lightening or at least the colours on the truck brought out more. It is interesting that you live in an area with strong light, which shows in your edits, while Robyn is still in winter with a much softer light which also comes through in her editing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raewyn, I know this is going to sound condescending but I don’t mean it that way. Your comment is very perceptive. I never thought about it but that makes sense. Where we live dictates how we see the world- for the most part. I have struggled more than once to turn the lights down on some of my images but I am never quite comfortable with dark, moody, images. I think I can change that, now that I’m aware of it. Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  8. Cool idea Emilio! Your image is quite different from Robyn’s, and different is good! You’ve warmed it up and melted the snow (how did you do that!) it still has that “end of the day” feel to it, just from a warmer clime! I like that you get two different perspectives from the same image, look forward to your next collaboration! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How did I melt the snow? Really? You want me to give away all my secrets? OK! (Wasn’t that easy? All you have to do is ask nicely.) I think when you add so many highlights to an image like I have done, snow just automatically melts! I mean, it’s only a theory but I have no other idea. Hope that helps! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Like them both for different reasons and find it very interesting to see the different ideas on the one image. I have to go with the red in the snow though, just because it’s snow and I don’t see it that often 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

