Groundhog Day

Gallery

20120517-untitled-2203-EditI’m going to have to think of a better title for this image. It was taken 6 or 7 days after  getting married. I say 6 or 7 because we were married in front of a local judge on the 10th of September 2012 but had a separate gathering on the 11th in which we said our vows in front of family and friends. So I count the 10th as our wedding anniversary, Lynn counts the 11th. This image was shot on the 17th.

Lynn wanted to take me to the town where the Bill Murray film Groundhog Day was shot. Woodstock, IL. Strolling around the town, I took a couple of dozen photos, but this was one of my few favorites. It was shot mid-afternoon on a very bright and sunny day.

Boy, do I love Lightroom!

33 thoughts on “Groundhog Day

          1. I try to~ but I usually have quite a lot to carry to my car everyday— like a small pack mule hahaha!! …only without the extra legs, wirey hair and ears… in any case, I always regret when I don’t …. luckily I brought it today 😀

            Liked by 1 person

  1. Emilio, I LOVE this!! From the colors to the composition and that wonderful shadow of the lantern – fabulous! And had you not told us about your LR transformation, I would never have guessed this was shot on a bright, sunny day. You, my friend, are a master Lightroomer! 😀

    Like

    1. OK, Stacy. I’m really going to need you to calm down. No one is going to believe I didn’t pay you to say these things. I just happened to get lucky here. A bit of dodging and burning, a graduated filter for the bright sidewalk and steps, lowering the overall contrast, and then a preset that I dialed back to 50%. Oh, and then I added lighting effects. The lamp was not lit as, I said, it was the middle of the day! 🙂

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

