One Four Challenge – July Week 4

Prompts and Challenges

So, the first week of this current One Four Challenge Robyn G commented that what I needed were ducks. I told her that my skills were not up to adding ducks. Well, somehow we got to talking and came up with the brilliant plan of swapping photos, which then evolved into combining them. I’m not sure yet if that’s what Robyn finally ended up doing, combining them or not. But, because of my constant complaining, she suggested I forget trying to decipher Photoshop and just take her photo and edit it in Lightroom. She would never tell me what she had planned for my photo. But knowing her, I’m all excited to see. Anyway, this is what I came up with after a crash course on combining the two shots. I know, sort of anti-climatic. But you can’t learn Photoshop in a week or two. (I had to run this combo through Fotosketcher so that the obvious faults were not so obvious). Et, Voila!  My background with Robyn’s ducks. Her ducks are not quite in scale with my background but, hey, it’s my first Photoshop experiment. Pretend it’s your child’s first finger painting and gush over it. Then go hang it on the refrigerator. Please!

Week 4

Week 4 

So, please go visit Robyn’s Captivate Me to view the other submissions for this challenge. The first Sunday of each month starts it anew. You take one of your own photos and, each week, process it differently so that on the fourth week you end up with four different versions. Take a look at all the submissions and join in! 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

73 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – July Week 4

    1. Ha ha.. I love what you did and guess what?! We had the same idea 😃😃 Love the fresh Spring palette in your final.. and the Ducks of course 😜
      This was so challenging..and such fun! Thank you so much for joining me in combining our images 😃
      I find it difficult to choose a favourite from yours this month.. think they’re all my favourites this time around.
      Nice work!!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. It was fun and yes I’d love to do it again sometime 😀
          Perhaps you could layer in Perfect Effects… can you? Perfect Layers?
          Anyway I LOVE what you did and I think it’s so funny that we both had the same idea, but perhaps it was the very best option… Great minds 😉

          Liked by 1 person

            1. I love your skies – they always look amazing!
              Photoshop is very much an ongoing learning process. Do bits here and there if you’re interested 🙂

              Like

              1. I am interested. But how to find the time? My first consideration is shooting. Then editing, then posting. And lastly, commenting. And I’m always behind on commenting. I think the only answer is to quit work in order to free up my days.

                Liked by 3 people

              2. I just went into my email and my favorite Lightroom youtube tutor is offering his photoshop course today only reduced from $97 to $39. And since he taught me everything I know…. If anyone is interested, his site is photoserge.com.

                Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m gushing! I hope you can feel the flow in Las Vegas. The art effect has worked well to cover the noise.
    I think the ducks should be a permanent real feature – they add a bit of reality to a surreal location.
    I haven’t tried Photoshop either – same time issues as you! One day….

    Like

    1. Debbie, there are actual ducks in the water occasionally. But the last few times we were there, none. When my wife mentioned their absence, I surmised that they flew to colder climes during the summer. I’m sure the water in the lake would be too hot during the summer when our temperatures are 105 and above. So maybe by Christmas or even Thanksgiving they will return.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Julie. My intention was simply to make the ducks appear as part of the picture.The abstraction helped and that’s why I chose it so I can’t take credit for the selection. It was a matter of necessity. The color was me, though! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, what fun! I need to learn both Lightroom and Photoshop….but not going to happen until I have moved, and even then it will be at a snails pace…eyes permitting

    Like

  3. Hard choice between week 2 and week 3 – they’re both so atmospheric in their own ways. I suppose week 2 is more glitzy (in a classy way) Las Vegas, and week three is more aged and Florence. This last week’s collaboration between you and Robin is pure fun and sounds like it was an amazing learning experience – experimentation is always worthwhile as it can lead one in a direction they never thought of when they started. Great month!

    Like

    1. You said week 2 is glitzy in a classy Las Vegas way? I’m not sure classy and Las Vegas are allowed to be used in the same sentence. But I did enjoy your comment. Thanks. I’ve told Robyn that any time she wants to try something together again that I’m in. As I said, it was frustrating and stressful- but only the Photoshop part of it. Otherwise, it was fun!

      Like

  4. I really love what you did this week. I think it is my favourite. I love your colour palette – it is so fresh and fun. I have Photoshop and just play around with it. I am still working out the layers etc but love playing around with the preset filters. I do have a dummies guide to Photoshop CC and have subscribed to Ben (Aperture64) and Stacy Fisher over at VisualVenturing on YouTube for their tutorials. Good luck

    Like

    1. Thanks, Raewyn. I just have to find the time to actually read and listen and then experiment with Photoshop. Is the Dummies guide any good? I could pick it up at the library, I think.

      Like

  5. Well, I’m moving closer. But not very quickly. I just need to find time- not that I’m any busier than any body else. I just don’t know if I’m managing my time very wisely.

    Like

  6. Good job combining the images, Emilio – I wouldn’t know where to start! I love the bright colours of this edit. In fact, I’ve loved all of your edits this month and really can’t choose a favourite! Really well done. 🙂

    Like

  7. Yes, FotoSketcher to the rescue! It works. Your edits this month have been really interesting. You started off so strong and had to keep that momentum (your words not mine)…you did it! I am impressed. I bet you are happy we have a break this coming month 🙂

    Like

    1. Happy? You can’t imagine. These challenges always stress me out but, at the same time, I enjoy the challenge. Thanks, Carrie, for your comment. It made me smiled. Did I really say I had to keep up the momentum?

      Like

      1. Oh I can! I really enjoy this challenge but also enjoy the rest from it. It is taxing. That is what good learning is all about, stepping away keeps me going 🙂
        It’s interesting, you replied to my week 1 comment twice…I remember you saying something similar to that within the first week of that post posting and then I got a second comment from you with your initial comment removed? So strange. Anyway, either way…this was a good month of edits! Fun to see them each week, I learn a lot from how you see things. Thanks!

        Like

        1. I think what happened with that comment is that I didn’t see the first one and so replied again. Then I saw there were two of basically the same and so deleted one. Does that make any sense? Another stressful element of this challenge is trying to comment on each post. I’m still responding a week later. I wish it wasn’t so popular with so many people joining in! 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  8. I really like the abstract vibe you have going on in this edit. I think you did a wonderful job especially for you first PS attempt. My first couple of attempts were scary…I mean seriously scary! My favorite edit is still Week 3, though. You and Robyn did a great job with the swap 🙂

    Like

  9. Wow, I really wish I had time for Robyn’s challenge! Your slideshow of your four edits is just wonderful, Emilio! Each so different and yet I really do love each one! The skies you add are amazing! As for the swap here, good for you for giving PS a go. Selections can be difficult and using FotoSketcher to mask the imperfections you perceived was a great choice, given the wonderful painterly result. Well done! Now I must go and visit Robyn’s post to see how the ducks fared in her version 🙂

    Like

    1. Robyn’s challenge is time consuming, but fun. I just wish I had more to me repertoire besides simple lightroom and PE effects. And I’m not saying that to get a compliment. I do love me some sky. But I have seen some images where the sky is just too busy or beautiful and detracts from the scene. Anyway, thank you for gushing. I love it! 🙂

      Like

      1. I know what you mean about wanting to expand your repertoire. Mine is LR and Nik 😉 I signed up a few months ago for a Photoshop Artistry course that a number of our fellow bloggers recommended. I just haven’t found the time to begin. Once fall hits, I hope to seriously get into it!

        Like

        1. Same here. I’ve listened to the first two tutorials on photoshop and that’s it. But tomorrow is Photoshop World at the Mandalay Bay and I’m taking a mini vacation from work to be there the 3 days. So I think that will get me all jazzed up again.

          Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

