After-Before Friday Week 53

Prompts and Challenges
After (2)

AFTER

No stories to tell with this image. Except that we had just been married for maybe two days and she was ready to get an annulment due to me starving and not wanting to stop at a Burger King for a fish sandwich when nothing else was open at 1 am on a week night morning.

I am not pleasant when hungry and tired!

Before

BEFORE

So let’s get started. This was an image I have totally ignored for just slightly over 3 years. It just didn’t do anything for me. But when looking for an image to play with, I came across it and it now has quickly become one of my favorites. We start with the BEFORE image straight out of the camera, shot in jpeg only because I was afraid of RAW at the time. I cropped it to get in tighter. That is the only reason I decided to crop. No artistic explanation. No justification. It is my image and I can do with it as I please! 🙂

Cropped

Cropped

The next step was to adjust the highlights and shadows, blacks and whites. I added contrast and clarity and reduced the blue saturation shift to remove the cast from the metal banister.

Adjust, add, and lower.

Adjust, add, and reduce.

I then exported the image into Perfect Effects 9 and added clouds which, for me, seems to add so much to an image.

Clouds

Clouds

I then used the preset that Stacy gave to me last month because I gushed over how much I liked it. Stacy’s a softy. Maybe if you gush enough she’ll send you something, too!

East Brunswick Ink preset

East Brunswick Ink preset

I now adjusted the contrast and clarity again!

Contrast and clarity

Contrast and clarity

I then lowered the exposure, removed more of the blue cast to the metal, adjusted luminance and removed the chromatic aberration which showed up as a red outline along the metal edges of the stairway and banister. And there you have it:

AFTER

AFTER

OK, so please visit Stacy’s Visual Venturing for boring rules and exciting photos.

And be thankful it’s not the other way around!

And please feel free to click on any of the images above to see a larger version.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

35 thoughts on “After-Before Friday Week 53

  1. Very cool image Emilio, I can see why it is one of your favourites! I imagine that you have hard drives full of images of clouds, ready to add to boring skies! It definitely helped in this picture. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Ben. I like my added skies. For me they seem to add drama to a shot. I know you once said they detract from the image, fighting the foreground, and I understand that now. Thank you!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Joanne. At the risk of sounding like a real smart-aleck, I’m always more impressed with how much additional detail Lightroom can squeeze out of a photo! (I love my Lightroom!) 🙂

      Like

  2. Shhh, Emilio, shhh. You’re giving away our secrets… It is a great preset, but your initial processing and your tweaks to it once applied are what brought this image to life. Love the angles, the lines, those awesome Emilioesque clouds, and the color tones. Glad you still had this one in your files! Isn’t it fun to go back and apply newfound skills to images that just sat because you just couldn’t figure out how to make them “better”? Awesome, Emilio!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

