One Four Challenge – May Week 4

Prompts and Challenges

There are rules and regulations for submissions to Robyn’s One Four Challenge, but then there are rules and regulations to almost everything in life. Robyn’s are relatively harmless and easy to follow. So why not give it a try? They are below!

As I stated last week, and the week before, and the week before that, I wanted to process my chosen image in variations of a vintage feel. I always begin by opening in Lightroom and proceed with my usual workflow of adjusting the highlights and shadows, blacks and whites, and cropping the image. Somewhere in there I also play with noise reduction, clarity and remove chromatic aberration. I then exported into Perfect Effects 9 and used one of their Light Leak presets. I liked the effect but the colors were too harsh so I imported back to Lightroom and added a split tone, then desaturated. Not bad, if I do say so myself.

4-11

 All 4 weekly versions are at the end of this post.

Please visit Robyn’s Captivate Me for all the other One Four Challenge submissions and as for the rules and regulations, see below:

About the challenge and how it works:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.

We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.

Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  (I’m going to show mine in week 4 along with the 4 variations from the month).

Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.

Each week starts again on Monday (Aussie time) and closes off the following Sunday (at the end of the day), so there is a whole week for you to create your post, link up here and tag your post.

This is a ongoing challenge. We will do the 1st four Mondays of the month.  If there are 5 Mondays in a month – we’ll still only post on 4.

Please TAG with One Four Challenge – thanks so much.

As well as a link (to my blog post) in your own post – would you mind leaving your post link on my blog post too please – in comments if you could – this way we are aware of everyone’s blog posts. Thank you!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

22 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – May Week 4

  1. I like all four versions, especially the second one (the one right after the Light Leak). Well done, Emilio. You also follow the rules well. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Cool! I missed everyone’s One Four Challenge because I was saving comments for week 4. But I don’t think that’s fair as I know how I am when I have few comments. So I’ve got to ignore work and home life and start visiting blogs! Soon!

      Like

  2. I’ve been finding most of the OnOne presets to be a little bit over the top for me. Probably I just need more practice, but I’ve been finding them very frustrating to use. I like that final image a lot.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the compliment, Marilyn. I have to agree with you on using presets. That’s why I tend to use them at 50%- sometimes as low as 25%. The problem with these downloaded apps like Lightroom and Perfect Effects and Gimp, etc. is that the learning curve is steep and difficult. There is good support and tutorials but for me it’s not the same as reading an instruction manual. That’s why I haven’t attempted Photoshop yet.

      Like

  3. Wow, how did I miss these each week? I have not been a good supporter this month, sorry (it took me forever to get here even this week!). I really have enjoyed looking over each of these edits this month. They are all GOOD.
    In reading the comments I am curious, how do you use a preset in LR at 50% OR 25%? how do you tone down the preset effectively? I use the presets but then tweak and work with the sliders once I have the preset in place, but wondering if there is a faster way 🙂
    Really, each of these images stands on its own. Way to go. I can’t chose, honest.

    Like

    1. Carrie, with a comment and enthusiasm like this, just keep doing what you’re doing. Who cares if you don’t comment every week? Just stop by once in a while and gush! 🙂 But you confused Lightroom with Perfect Effects 9. I use both and in Perfect Effects 9 you can adjust presets from 1 to 100%. In Lightroom I also have to use individual sliders and know no way around it. Sorry.

      Like

      1. Dang, I thought I was missing something :\ Okay, great, I’ll keep doing what I am doing, this month of edits were great, Emilio! Now, off to google perfect effects 9…thanks!!

        Like

  4. I like #2 the best but they are all interesting and yet you set yourself fairly narrow parameters this month by trying to keep to the vintage feel. I think you succeeded in each, Emilio.

    Like

  5. Ha ha.. Love your intro – thank you 😃
    This has been a great vintage month for you Emilio. Each one is so different and easy recognisable as vintage, due in part to the car of course.
    Did I say I like the square crop? It suits the image so well.
    Love this weeks light leak version. Think its my fave for the month. Most enjoyable – all of them!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

