ABFriday Week 47: May One Photo Focus

Prompts and Challenges
Shane's

Image courtesy of Shane Francescut

You know, I’ve been thinking about charging for my secrets! I mean, how many doctors will operate for free? How many lawyers do pro bono? How many photographers just give their secrets away? But since I haven’t paid for lessons (I’m a bit cheap, I admit) I guess that wouldn’t be fair. A lot of photographers DO give their secrets away. And I am forever indebted to them; Serge Ramelli, Matt Kloskowski, Scott Kelby, Phil Steele, Julianne Kost, Joe Giordano, Stacy Fischer….  I can’t list them all without being afraid of leaving someone out. So , thanks to every photographer I follow, who has followed me, and who has given me examples to steal from and/or comments to learn from. I owe you all.

Your check is in the mail

So as for what I’ve done here. Well, I was pretty darn proud of myself before I checked out everyone else.  My workflow always starts out the same whether it is my own image or someone else’s. I open in Lightroom and, under Basic, there are 4 sliders. I open the shadows and bring down the highlights, then adjust the whites and blacks so that they barely show up on the histogram. Then I will adjust contrast and color. I am starting to veer away from heavily saturated colors but this one called out to me as soon as I saw the clouds that appeared once I started playing around. So I went into Split tones and added blue and yellow. From here I exported into Perfect Effects 9 and added sharpness, clarity, and a gradiant filter to throw the background very slightly out of focus. Then I added a radial filter around the seesaw in the foreground to highlight that area. And that’s about it.

The image above is courtesy of Shane Francescut of The Weekly Minute. I was so excited when I first saw this image that I couldn’t wait to work on it and I admit I’ve been sitting on it for almost a month waiting for May 1. So here it is Shane. Hope I did you justice.

Stacy, thanks for After-Before Friday each week and for One Photo Focus the first Friday of each month. Anybody reading this who has not visited Shane’s or Stacy’s sites, please do so now.

There is nothing more to read.

I am done.

~Fini~

43 thoughts on “ABFriday Week 47: May One Photo Focus

  1. It may sound strange, but I really like the way this looks like a shot from the Walking Dead! Nice editing.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Mary. That all started when I was trying to get a parched, dry look to some of my landscapes. Then I decided I liked it better than the super-saturated colors I see a lot.

      Like

    1. Ben, I hate you. When I saw what you did to this image I wanted to cry. I was happy with my interpretation until I saw yours! What gives you the right to have so much talent? Yours just blew me away! As for the slight sepia, I usually add a black and white filter that has a coffee colored cast to it, then lower it to around 50% to get the washed out tone I’m looking for. Damn good eye!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 🙂 mums the word ~ btw you never read my blog tour that i did when you passed it along to me way back…. i dont want to brag, but i thought i did a goos job 😀

        Like

        1. A goos job? I’ll go right now and take a look at that blog tour. How far back was it? I apologize for my callousness or insensitivity. My only excuse is that I’m a guy- which seems to cover almost all my actions! 🙂

          Like

  2. I find I often like the less saturated look too – I was scrolling down through Stacy’s blog and saw yours and abruptly stopped thinking, I like this one. Then looked to see, of course, it’s Emilio’s. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lynne. This is one of the best comments I have ever received. After looking at all the other submissions this morning and feeling somewhat less than satisfied at my own, you have made me smile.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome? You dare talk to me about awesome? Then how do I comment on your contribution? More awesome? The awesomest? You and Ben have set back my ego about ten years! Who taught you this stuff? How do you look at a scene like the one Shane gave us and see anything more than what is there? What the rest of us see? You are amazing. Awesome and Amazing!

      Like

  3. I couldn’t help chuckling at the suggestion of adding some zombies in. Personally I think it would not do your beautiful photo justice but that could be a fun project. 🙂

    Like

      1. Okay, I’m baaack 🙂 Now if I can only remember the witty remark I wrote last night 😉 I do remember I started with, “Oh, Emilio, you sell yourself way too short!”

        Really, you do. I wish I had thought of the desaturated look, but even if I had, I would not have thought to use the split tone (despite Ben’s wonderful LR tutorial on it way back when) OR boosting the blue like you did in the sky. Both of those choices just brought the image to a fantastic level!

        As for placing me among such incredible company, I’m dumbfounded, but I’ve always appreciated how much you appreciate my videos. Truly. Thanks, Emilio, for your ongoing support of ABF, 1PF, and me in general. You’re the bomb 🙂

        Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

