Respect

Prompts and Challenges
Shot with an iPhone 5- amazing little camera, ...er, phone!

Shot with an iPhone 5- amazing little camera, …er, phone!

I came across this tableau a few days ago as I was getting into my car. I moved the fast food wrapper a bit closer, then took the shot. It didn’t occur to me until writing this just now that I left it there, all the while commenting to myself on what kind of person just throws their litter on the ground. Well, what kind just sees it as a photo-op?

“The Great Spirit is in all things, he is in the air we breathe. The Great Spirit is our Father, but the Earth is our Mother. She nourishes us, that which we put into the ground she returns to us….”Big Thunder (Bedagi) Wabanaki Algonquin

25 thoughts on “Respect

  1. You left a photo op for another photographer. I never understood why people want to trash things up. When we lived in Spain in the late 1990’s people were really bad about just throwing trash on the streets, on the floors in bars, on the grounds in the parks, etc. I asked a Spanish friend about it and he said that it was other people’s jobs to pick up the trash. It was the same with peeing in the streets. I played in a group and we would perform on weekends. Everything happened late in Madrid, and I would walk home at 2:00, 3:00, 4:00 am after playing a gig. Hundreds of teenagers would congregate in a small park I had to walk by on my way home. They would drink all kinds of alcohol, but mainly “calimocho” coke mixed with very cheap wine. They would pee on the walls, in doorways and between the parked cars, so the sidewalks and gutters were rivers of urine. I had to walk in the middle of the street to get by the park. The next morning, city workers would be out at daybreak washing down the walls, doorways, and sidewalks with high pressure hoses.

    Like

    1. Well, I guess it’s good to hear that it’s not just Americans. But it does seem to be primarily boys and men, I think. And I think my old boss in NYC would have said, it’s not other people’s jobs. It’s all of ours! We are all responsible.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think “Irony” would be the perfect title for this shot, a shot I would definitely take, Emilio! I home schooled our girls and when they were little, we would go out once a week with gloves and a garbage bag, picking up all the trash along both side of our four-block stretch of street. None of us ever understood littering and still don’t. Laziness is what I always told them, but I think too many people either don’t think, don’t care, or both.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have admitted in the past to being a tree hugger but I don’t think you need to be to get angry at people who litter. When I worked in NYC my boss said to us all, this is where you work. If you see a piece of paper on the floor, pick it up and throw it away. True, we always had clients coming into our offices and it was in part, his message to be proud of where you work. Almost 15 years later and I find myself doing the same thing in my office here. And whenever we go for a hike! Be proud of where you live!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t understand why people just can’t walk a couple of yards to a trash can. When I was a girl guide leader we used to go out picking up rubbish in the park nearby. Even at school we used to get sponsors to go out into the community to pick up rubbish. People just don’t care what they do with the environment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Raewyn, to be fair, the person who littered was probably overweight (judging from the fast food wrapper) or suffering from emphysema (the cigarette butt and package). So the distance of a yard or two to deposit his litter in the trash can would have been a daunting task!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Good for you for calling yourself out, Emilio, but I’m glad you captured the image.
    How ironic!
    I’ve been known to chase people down and hand their cigarette butt back to them (granted that was years ago). It is pure laziness and selfishness to litter.
    Grrr …

    Like

    1. Yeah, let’s start a movement. No littering. OK, wait, that was started about 40 years ago and I’m not sure it worked as planned. Let’s just arrest all the litterers and make them serve their sentences picking up trash on the highway. Come on, Laurie. You can do it once you’re elected as a delegate!

      Like

  5. Coincidentally, my husband and I went for a walk this morning and we came upon an empty chip bag on the ground. Literally 5 feet away from a trash can. I picked it up and stuffed it in the trash, wiped my hands on my pants and picked up a plastic bag less than a block away and repeated the process. I’m not big on touching other people’s trash – I don’t know, grosses me out or something. But today seeing that stuff on the ground grossed me out more.
    This is where “you big pig” applies. (not to you, of course) 😉

    Like

  6. Certainly a lot of irony in that shot. Littering makes me absolutely crazy – but at the same time I’m uncomfortable about confronting people about their bad behaviour.

    Like

    1. I hate confrontations of any kind. My wife, Lynn, seems to revel in them when necessary. So I always bring her along. Trouble is, if she angers someone enough, they’re bound to come for me, not her! So I usually wait in the car! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I have this thing with throwing trash away – you just always do it. Well several years ago, my older son and I were out (I think he was about six or seven at the time) and this man tossed a crumpled paper on the ground. My son ran up to him and said, “Excuse me sir, you dropped something.” The man paused and then went back and picked it up.

    I did have to laugh that you were so focused on the photo that you left the trash there 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

