Photo 101 – Big

Prompts and Challenges

BIG problem! No photo today, Nor probably for quite a while. Let me explain.

My pc was running very slow. When I checked it out, I found that I was saving over 3000 RAW files on the hard drive. So about 6 months ago, I bought an external hard drive and transferred all the photos onto it. Then, as I shot, I would transfer directly from the camera, through my laptop, to the external drive. Last night I disconnected the hard drive as I always do. And when I went to plug it into Lightroom to work on a photo, the drive was corrupted. Unusable. Almost 4,000 photos dating back to 2009, destroyed. Or are they? I have the hard drive at the computer store now and he will call soon to let me know if anything can be salvaged and, if so, how much it will cost. Oh, wait! I have some photos on my phone. Let me see if anything is appropriate for “BIG”!

Statue of a headless Stalin (or naybe it's Lenin) at the entrance to the Red Square Restaurant and Vodka Lounge at Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas

Statue of a headless Stalin (or naybe it’s Lenin) at the entrance to the Red Square Restaurant and Vodka Lounge at Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas

50 thoughts on “Photo 101 – Big

  1. My heart sank when I read this – I sure hope they can salvage your photos. (See, and people think I’m paranoid because I have three external hard drives where I store back ups, haha!)

    Like

  2. I’ve had a good luck regaining files with a program ‘get back data’ – https://www.runtime.org/data-recovery-software.htm -Even if they say they can’t recover the files-I’ll bet you can with this program. You will need a second drive to recover the files to of equal or greater size. I love your photo by the way. The headless Stalin/Lenin / person -is probably about how you feel without your data…i have faith you’ll be fine – -the program can take a good 24 hours to run if you go with doing it yourself. Cheers and good luck

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that comment of yours and hadn’t thought of the similarity between my headless statue and me. But it’s true. That’s how I feel I will keep that program in mind if they say they can’t salvage anything! Thanks.

      Like

  3. Aargh….what a nightmare. I have a back-up drive as well as the main one and wonder if that is sufficient! Some of my really old stuff is on optical discs

    Like

  4. Oh no, I am sorry for you and hope that it all turns out okay. Hopefully you’ll be able to salvage at least some of those photos. With technology these days, I’m sure something can be done. This is actually a great B&W shot, great composition 🙂

    Like

  5. Sorry to hear about the hard drive problem Emilio but most of the time when a drive is corrupted it is just the FAT (file allocation table). Hopefully the computer store has a utility to fix this. I know it’s a little late now but hard drives are so cheap now that it pays to have two of them so the data you save is redundant. Right now I have two drives that I back up manually but I think in the future I will spring for a NAS (network attached storage) with some sort of RAID so it automatically backs up in a redundant way. Best of luck with the drive my friend.

    Like

    1. I’m with Emilio … FAT, NAS, RAID … no clue!
      Then again, when I see a patient, the first sentence is often 30 yo MWF, G1P0, LMP 10/12/85, EGA 10 1/7, EDC 12/2015.
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have two external hard drives…redundancy! And I pay a small yearly fee for my own photo website with Smug Mug. I feel that with the photos in three places, they are secure.

    Like

  7. Great photo. Thank goodness for your camera. What a bummer. I know how you feel. I have a lot of photos on my time capsule. Big problem. I don’t have my iMac anymore. So they are just sitting there waiting for me to afford a new iMac. Hopefully not too far away.

    Like

    1. They called this morning just to say they were working on it and that there were “bad sectors” and they were attempting a “preliminary data recovery”. I do have some photos on posted on Flickr and my website as well as all the photos I’ve posted on here. But almost 6 years worth of images? Yikes!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, definitely, except my laptop now expired on me. Maybe one had something to do with the other, I don’t know. But they were both Toshiba and both relatively new- just past the warranty on both!

          Like

    1. Disheartening doesn’t even come close. I’ve been going through my dropbox, flickr, and website to see what I have that is usable. I would say out of almost 4000 photos, I have maybe 200 left!

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

