The Shark

Gallery

The Shark

Jerry Tarkanian was the head coach for the UNLV Runnin’ Rebels  basketball team from 1973 to 1992.  He was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013. He died February 11, 2015 at the age of 84. He was so well loved by the city of Las Vegas that the lights on the strip were dimmed in his memory for 3 minutes, an honor only seven others have shared, including, Elvis Presley, Sammy Davis Jr., Dean Martin, George Burns and Frank Sinatra after their deaths.

Tarkanian was popularly known as “Tark the Shark”!

A beautiful example of the art known commonly as graffiti!

18 thoughts on “The Shark

    1. Janice, I’ve spent years of my life and thousands of dollars I do not have, nor ever will. And you expect me to give away my knowledge, my expertise, for free? Does a magician give away the tricks of his trade? OK, maybe some do! But they are mere attention seekers. Not me. I am an artist and would never divulge how to achieve a certain je ne sais pas. Well, maybe every Friday I do. But besides that! Then again, it is always nice for we who are talented to sometimes allow a peek into our creative process. So, in answer to your question, yes!
      (Really, it was pure luck. When I saw the image in my camera I could not believe the look of it. It is a color image of a black and white drawing but what really caught my attention was the artist’s talent. 🙂 )

      Like

    1. I had a friend in school who was deeply into Graffiti. He actually got arrested on the school grounds at night just before he was able to leave his mark. Wonder where he is now? He was a very talented artist but would not take classes- the type of kid who was self taught and new better than any teacher!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are some cities that are hiring graffiti artists. They create murals in that style. Their unconventional methods are being accepted in the art world. There’s a different mentality in the graffiti artist that disallows them to conform to the traditional schooling methods. I believe that’s what makes art the undefinable profession. 😀 p.s. hope your father is doing well. ☺️

        Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

