ABFriday Week 35: February One Photo Focus

Prompts and Challenges

I wish this image was one of mine but, sadly, it is not. It is courtesy of Manal Ali at A Single Shutter. I only did the processing.

BEFORE

Stacy Fischer explains on her site Visual Venturing that “After-Before Friday (ABF) posts provide an opportunity for photographers (amateur and seasoned, alike) to share their photos, and if they wish, their post-processing decisions… The goal is to enjoy a behind-the-scenes look at others’ work while picking up helpful ideas along the way that each of us can use as we work with our own photos.

[T]he first Friday of each month is designated ABFriday One Photo Focus (1PF), when all participants post-process the same image.”  

Please visit her blog for information on how to participate.

It will be interesting to see what Manal does with her own image. As for my interpretation…

AFTER

AFTER

I apologize that I did not have time this week to build a slide show of changes. There were a ton of them as I experimented. But basically I wanted to emphasize the wet look in my processing. So, to begin.

I straightened the converging lines of the image under Lens Profile in Lightroom. I then adjusted the whites, blacks, highlights, and shadows as I always do. I added a touch of clarity to break through the bit of haze or mist that permeated the image. I played with the white balance and chose “shade”- which added an overall yellow hue. Then I exported to Perfect Effects 9.

I added clouds because the sky was a very uninteresting dull gray. I also added some sharpening. I then exported back into Lightroom.

I added dark areas with the radial filter to sections of the windows on the tower to the right, then offset those areas with lighter, golden streaks again with the radial filter. I added highlights on all the buildings on the street, then went crazy adding yellow lights in the street lamp and golden highlights on the street and sidewalk. Finally, a slight vignette.

I know there can be any number of variations of this image but I am very happy with the way this processing turned out. Hope you like it. Please check out the rest of the submissions at Visual Venturing!

And please visit Monochromia for the some black and white fun.

And thanks again Manal. Hope you like what I’ve done!

 

51 thoughts on “ABFriday Week 35: February One Photo Focus

    1. Thanks, Mary. I think every one who participated added some interest to the photo. And I’m not trying to be modest. Most of the processing this week just blew me away (I think I used that phrase already this week. Have to come up with something new!)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ben. For some reason I was so excited about this image that I finished within one evening. I had about 4 different color versions but this one really captured what I was trying to do the best..

      Like

    1. Thanks, Sue. You know that children’s book or series “Where’s Waldo”? I’m going to start a new blog based on where you and David are this week. Where are you two this week? Oh, never mind. I’ll go visit your blog! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Emilio, the “magic” you have worked with this photo is just wonderful. So much so that I wish I had done it! I love how you use yellow highlights in some of your photos, but they are especially beautiful here paired with the cloudy blue sky (another brilliant choice). I feel as if the sun is coming out after a rainstorm or that a rainstorm is coming and pushing out the sun (either interpretation is lovely, in my mind). Love this!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Katie. When I just did regular color correction to the image and added the clouds, something was still missing. It just seemed a little flat. So, as I’ve said, I ended up with about 3 other versions of heightened color, then decided to try using the gold that was in the sale window. That did it for me!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Its a great sky Emilio and Im dying to know how you got it in there behind all those annoying tree branches! At first glance it wasnt as obvious but the yellow tone to the building not being matched in the sky started to bug me a bit. Its such a different looking image so great job there 🙂

    Like

    1. With the updated perfect effects nine it’s pretty easy to get the sky behind branches. But I’m working on a photo now where it’s palm fronds and that’s not as easy. The yellow on the buildings didn’t bother me until I looked at everybody else’s versions and then I realized there was no corresponding yellow or gold in the sky. If it were my own photo I would go back in and change it.

      Like

  3. Very interesting that you made this image look like the sun came out right after the rain, while I focused on the blue coldness. It’s great how we all came away from this image with different ideas. 😀

    I am curious how you added the clouds behind all those tree branches… did you mask and paint very carefully? or perhaps choose a blend mode? Please tell your secrets! 😀

    Like

        1. Yes, I do (sorry, I left you a question on this just a few seconds ago). I bought it after Thanksgiving when it was on sale. I’ll have to look again after supper to find it. I’m sure it’s there, I just don’t know where.

          Like

  4. Wow, Emilio, you really blow me away with the beauty of your work. Those clouds really helped that sky out tremendously and I’m so jealous that I didn’t think of trying that! Of course, the fact it’s beyond my current skill level is probably why. I love how the yellow tint really brightened it all up too.

    Nancy

    Like

    1. Nancy, you excel in certain processing skills that I don’t even pretend to have so let’s call it even. I was going to say how much I love your work but I will save that for your own blog. Thanks for your comments! I love reading them- especially when they are so complimentary! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. We all do it differently and that’s what makes this so much fun. I commented to Stacy that the other thing I like is how blog hop around to see each other’s work and leave comments. I think that’s actually even more fun – so many creatives doing something different. Everyone is pretty supportive too, which is good.

    I do have a question though – where in onOne did you find the clouds? I looked around this morning and couldn’t find them. I found a few other things to try though 🙂

    Like

    1. The clouds are under “Texture”. There are 3 variations of all five cloud images. If you have a blue sky, when you add the clouds, they will turn blue, and the sky sections will be very saturated. You can play around with different sliders and get a good sky. Or, what I normally do, is desaturate the blue sky in lightroom. Then export into PE9 and add the clouds. Make any sense? If you have any questions, just ask. I’d be very happy to help.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Emilio. I can only say I’m completely jealous. I will have to see if I can find those clouds. The only ones I could find were very dark sepia or b&w. I’ll have to see if I can find them. Great results.

    Like

  7. Great image – this looks more like a sunnier happy image than the original and is great to see how you can bring about this effect. Really like what you have done here 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

