Just Being

Uncategorized

New YearI never lose sight of the fact that just being is fun. ~~Katharine Hepburn

I didn’t start out this year thinking I wanted to write a Happy New Year post. Who cares about a new year? Yes, we’re told we should and some of us feel guilty if we miss any of the celebrations at midnight. But to me, every day is cause for celebration! It was not always so. I have had some dark periods in my life, but those are what have made me appreciate what I have now more than I ever would have.  We must learn to accept, and even embrace, the pleasures as well as the pain that life may bring. I am sure this new year will be just as eventful as last. Just as emotional. Just as mundane. Some of us may welcome a new family member, some may lose a friend. One of you might win the lottery, some of you might lose a job. Some might retire, some might get hired for the first time.

In 2008, I suffered an emotional meltdown, the specifics of which are not important. This morning I told my wife that I loved her.

So to all of you still reading, I wish you not a happy new year, but a year full of life, of living, of love, and laughter and the pain that makes everything more dear.

49 thoughts on “Just Being

  1. Thank you for that, Emilio. 🙂 I’ve had my dark times too. Still do sometimes, and not always for a good reason. Wishing you a fulfilled and mostly joyful year. (and that’s a lovely photo)

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jo! Yeah, I still have dark times. But they are less extreme and last for a lot shorter time. And I am able to talk more now. I think that’s important. You can’t keep it bottled up inside! Here’s to 2015 and beyond! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I have always acknowledged that one of two categories that would sink me on the TV show Jeopardy was/is Shakespeare. I am neither a scholar nor a Shakespeare buff. But every now and then I come across words that aren’t often used and that I like. Just to mess with people. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. A beautiful choice of photo for the ethereal feelings of hope and anticipation for the new year and all it may bring.
    Wishing you abundance in 2015 of all the things you value most!

    Like

  3. This is just a spectacular image, a great quote and wonderful words from you. I wish you and your wife nothing but wonderful things for this New Year and many years to come my friend 🙂

    Like

  4. What a great photo, and as great thoughts Emilio! Happy times are fun and wonderful, but I think through the darker days we really grow. A year full of life to you and your wife! 🙂

    Like

  5. Emilio I appreciate your honest post. Your wish for the New Year is spot on. We spent the 31st traveling to a friend’s funeral. Such pain brings the gift of living fully into sharp focus.

    Like

  6. Way to be optimistic Emilio! Only one might win the lottery? I would hope that more would then at least you’d have more of a chance to get small amount of it just for being their friend. Or maybe get a new camera if they are generous enough. One can always dream. But the first step to winning the lottery is to actually play it so you can count me out for the one that might win.

    As for me, I’m not looking at what I may accomplish in the next year, but making plans for years to come to enjoy my overall life. I like to set long term goals and think of what I could be doing in 2+ years, not just in the coming months. Although the next 12 months will have a lot of nice things in store. I might even make it to your part of the world within that time if things go right.

    Like

    1. Well, I meant to say only one of your friends may win the lottery. It would be too fantastical if you had several friends win, wouldn’t it. We are not gamblers but every now and then my wife will play the lottery. She has plans for everyone she knows, all ready. Just in case she wins!

      Like

  7. A great reminder of “just being”
    We seem to hide from the bad stuff. But its the bad stuff that helps us appreciate the good.
    A beautiful welcome to a new year of living!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sue. My grandfather is 92 so maybe many years of life run in our family. I know that me and my wife try to take care of ourselves and eat healthy, while grandpa eats salami. mortadella, and the like. So I told my wife, once I reach 90, no more health foods.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. The dark and the light times…all that is called life, all that makes us ourselves is what matters, I think. New year or an old one doesn’ t really make such a difference…I wish you to be yourself and enjoy the way you are and what you do, Emilio, as well as cherish and love the ones you hold dear. Day by day.
    PS: The photo is absolutely stunning, and I would happily sign under the quote. 🙂

    Like

  9. Thank you so much for the beautiful words and photo, Emile! I never lose sight of the fact that just being… thank you for the reminder! Wish you a joyful year!

    Like

  10. Oh, the dark times. If we didn’t have them, how could we ever fully appreciate the good times. Wonderful post, Emilio. I think I might just print it out and tack it to my refrigerator where I’ll see it countless times each day. A happy, healthy, inspiring, thought-provoking, enriching, and rewarding year to you and your wife!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

