Man Made Items Re-post

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

Hoover BridgeThe Mike O’Callaghan–Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge, spanning the Colorado River between Arizona and Nevada, opened in 2010. Taking 7 years and approximately $240 million to build, the bridge was the first concrete-steel composite arch bridge built in the United States. It incorporates the widest concrete arch in the Western Hemisphere, and at 840 feet (260 m) above the Colorado River, is the second-highest bridge in the United States. It is also the world’s highest concrete arch bridge. The bridge is located approximately 30 miles (48 km) southeast of Las Vegas, Nevada, and carries U.S. Route 93 over the Colorado River. It was the key component of the Hoover Dam Bypass project. (Source:Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

For photos taken during construction, please visit Travel With Intent.

Originally posted January 15, 2014

Everyone knows someone who knows something about everything! You can quote me on that. For us, it is our neighbor, Max. That is not his real name but I like the name Max. Maybe I shouldn’t use a name I like for this windbag as I will forever associate that name with him. OK, let’s call him by a letter. How about Q? There are so few names that start with Q.  I can only think of Q from Star Trek, who is said to be omnipotent. Our Q would have everyone believe he is omnipotent, or at least all knowing. He lives across and two houses up the block from us. If we are in our backyard and he is in his garage, with the garage door down, we can still hear him. He is loud, and has an opinion about everything. When we first mentioned that we had gone out to Boulder City to see the new bridge, he wasted no time in elucidating all the shortcuts taken by the builders in order to save money and time. He is convinced that one day the bridge will fall into the river below. He does not say specifically when this catastrophe might occur but the bridge is already 4 years old. How many more years might it have, if Q is to be believed? I’m not sure I actually do believe him. But I know that whenever we go across it, 70 mph just doesn’t seem fast enough. I try for at least 100 mph so that I may be assured of jumping the chasm that might open up below us if it does fall while we are driving across.

Oh, and Happy New Year!

12 thoughts on “Man Made Items Re-post

  1. When I drove across the bridge in 2012 I was amazed at how seamless the new road and approach were. It actually felt like that was the way the road and bridge always were. I did miss very much crossing the dam though. Quite dramatic scenery. This is a very beautiful and dramatic photo. Happy New Year.

    Like

  2. A fantastic bridge, wonderful perspective and view! I have to admit that I have a fear of heights and this kinda gives me the heebie jeebies. I’d have to drive over this with my eyes closed 🙂

    Like

    1. I have complained about that same issue with WordPress. Don’t know what the problem is but the reader notifications are not accurate, for some reason. Thanks for finding me again on your own!

      Like

  3. Ha! Aren’t “Qs” just exasperating?? Perhaps he’ll one day read your post and get some true insight 😉 As for the bridge, glad you stopped to take this photo – I feel as if I’m crossing it! Fantastic composition, fantastic processing. I’d buy this if you were selling!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

