One Four Challenge Week 4

Prompts and Challenges

 

One Four Week 4In Robyn’s own words:

This challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.

We will all process / post edit our own chosen image and share a different version each week.

Process it however you like… and tell us a bit about it. You don’t have to show the original image unless you’d like to.

Try new things, experiment. Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.

And in my own words, the image above was my favorite of all versions until I started reading the comments and played around with a black and white version. Now, well, I don’t think I’ll tell you which is my favorite unless you ask nicely. OK, nicely is not really a prerequisite. If you have enough interest to ask nicely or otherwise, I will tell you! That’s the kind of guy I am.

On this, the final version, I went back to the original SOOC and played with the blacks, whites, highlights, and shadows. I adjusted the contrast and clarity. I also added highlights with the radial filter to the sides and roof of the building. I then cropped the image, exported out of lightroom, and into Perfect Effects 8. I sharpened and brightened the image, then added the clouds. Back in lightroom, I added a vignette and there you have it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

40 thoughts on “One Four Challenge Week 4

  1. oooh I really like what you did in the Week 4 image, its retained the sky and got great contrast and detail in the shack, and the slightly muted tones work well with the derelict image. Lovely job!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Stacey. I’ve been going back and forth with which version is my favorite. I think it depends on who’s comment I am reading. It doesn’t seem like I have a mind of my own. I like the black and white but, with all the great comments on this version, I am starting to lean more your way! 🙂

      Like

  2. I am a fan of the monochrome version, it is really striking, and unique. I have enjoyed all of your posts and learning about your process on each. I had no idea this image cold look so different each week, I love that about this challenge!

    Like

  3. Nicely done Emilio. You did a great job of producing a different feel each week, and this last one has quite sharp lines in the shack, reinforcing the derelict look. My favourite remains Week 2.

    Like

    1. Funny how much I liked that one until I started experimenting. And now with all the votes in, I still prefer the black and white I did. But it was touch and go all the way. Thanks for stopping by to comment. Hope you come again. And again!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Emilio, I could have sworn I commented on this, and then, ah-hah, I realized it was on Monochromia, where I really, really liked your B&W version. Seeing all the other versions, I’m still partial to the B&W. I love the softer texture of the sky – it gives space for the structure to sing. 2nd place? Number 2, for the same reason and for the glorious, muted tones. So was I nice? 🙂 Such an awesome challenge!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

