After Before Friday – Week 27

Prompts and Challenges
Truck Int-2

AFTER

Please click on the image to see a high res version

Before we get started, I would like to comment on the news I received just the other day that Chris Hemsworth has been selected as People’s Sexiest Man Alive for 2014. I understand that the voting went back and forth between the two of us but he finally won out.

I came in second.

Truck Int Before

BEFORE

OK, So I will endeavor to make this as pain free as possible. If at any time you begin to have a sense of vertigo or mind numbing boredom, read no further. Those of the feminine persuasion should browse the internet for photos of Chris Hemsworth. Those of the male persuasion, well, I’m sure you have your favorite sites already!

So, first in Lightroom I adjusted the blacks and whites and shadow and brightness. That opened up all the darker recesses of the truck interior. But I wanted to be able to see the exterior through the glass, too. So I used a brush to adjust the saturation, contrast, and clarity in the windshield and the two other side windows. I then added a gradient filter from the bottom of the image up halfway to lighten the interior some more. Then I used a radial filter on the windows to further saturate and add contrast and clarity to the exterior. Please enjoy the slide show of my changes below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As always, please visit our hostess with the mostest, Stacy Fischer, at Visual Venturing for more After and Before photo processing.

And visit Monochromia for some black and white photo processing!

50 thoughts on “After Before Friday – Week 27

  1. I absolutely love the after… Huge difference in the brightness! Although, it kind of reminded me of a guy I went on a date with in college- his car was disheveled like that. I don’t think it would’ve photographed as well 🙂

    Like

        1. I understand him completely. I spilled coffee on our beige carpet and my wife was able to clean it. Of course, she has other talents, too. I did not marry her to clean up after me. But she says she likes doing it. Vacuuming, washing dishes, dusting. What is wrong with this woman? The only thing she doesn’t really enjoy is cooking. That’s where I come in. I make the mess, we eat, then she kicks me out of the kitchen to clean up. Gotta love that relationship! 🙂

          Like

  2. Another great rescue effort. It’s hard to believe you could pull all that detail out of the original picture. And the best part is that it turned into a really nice image. Well, maybe the best part is the commentary that accompanied the explanation. Very entertaining.

    Like

  3. Poor Emilio. Always the bridesmaid, never the bride, or something like that anyway 🙂 On the other hand, what does Chris Hemsworth have that you don’t?? Well, besides a lot of money. Bet he doesn’t have a smidgen of your sense of humor – I’d take that any day! But I digress. On to the photo. You’ve managed to turn a rusty old, rather disgusting car (yup, have to admit that) into a work of art. Love the power of Lightroom (can’t be without the shadows slider and those graduated filters). And I really like your slideshow approach this week, so says the hostess with the mostest 🙂 Thanks for that!

    Like

    1. What does Chris Hemsworth have that I don’t? You mean besides the long, thick blond hair, and the physique? Well, I asked my wife point blank who was the sexiest man, Chris or me. And she didn’t even hesitate! Thanks, Stacy!

      Like

  4. I really like what you did with the after and Lordy Lordy I finally got the laugh I’ve been needing for a coon’s age. You may have come in second but Thor’s got nothing on you when it comes to humor.

    Like

    1. A coon’s age? Didn’t they rescind that particular expression during the race riots of the 60’s? I understand that it refers to a raccoon’s life span. But one can never be too careful!

      Like

      1. It does refer to raccoons and if I have to censor my words so that people don’t read into things well then I just done know what. Last time I looked this was America. Land of the free, home of the brave and the old – who still like to use some of the old time expressions without worrying about being misunderstood. I am surrounded by my bi-racial family. We got a good laugh. 🙂

        Like

        1. Some of my best friends are black! Yes, I understand. What amazes me is that my dad always says “my black friend, Arthur” but never says “My Italian friend Luigi” or “my Jewish friend Morris”.

          Like

  5. Just for the record … no one told me about the vote. I think there might have been a fix.

    Secondly – the “after” photo is amazing. As I continue to play with Lightroom, I’m actually starting to understand some of the edits you are making. Woohoo.
    … just to clarify, I only understand what you’re talking about – I can’t actually do it 🙂

    Like

  6. Second? Again? Oh, the cruel faith…I always thought Thor was overrated, have a soft spot for Loki.
    As for your image, I am literally blown away, my colleagues had to pick me off the floor. You made all the perfect changes not just to improve the image, but to create something completely different. Congrats!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

