After-Before Friday Week 26

Prompts and Challenges
Riverfront orig
BEFORE

 Well, I’ve been having a lot of fun with being the runner-up to Karen’s winning submission! I wanted to wax philosophical about my loss and looked up a few quotes. They are, in no particular order;

“The biggest thing I learned from losing? Winning’s better.” Ted Turner

“Show me a good loser, and I’ll show you a loser.” Vince Lombardi

“Second place is just the first place loser.” Dale Earnhardt

 Since everyone was processing the same photo this week, my first inclination was to go way over the top so that, I admit it, my version would stand out from the crowd. But this is not really about me, is it? It’s about Karen’s winning image and Stacy’s winning blog. So I held back. Really.

 I began with my normal work flow in Lightroom of working with the highlights, shadows, whites, and blacks. Then I added contrast and clarity. I added a slight blue tint to the water. Then I used the radial filter to throw a few highlights on the buildings and make the lighting a bit more dramatic. I inserted more clouds into the sky in Perfect Effects 8 because there were areas that were totally blown out . I might have gone a bit overboard here. Back in Lightroom I tilted the buildings slightly and then cropped. Last was a slight vignette.

Hope you enjoy.

Riverfront
AFTER

“Just because I lost doesn’t make me a loser.” Emilio Pasquale

We have Stacy Fischer of Visual Venturing to thank for 6 months of fun, though I’ve only been contributing for maybe two months. But I’m sure everybody who joined in had fun!

For black and white aficionados, please visit Monochromia, to which I contribute every Tuesday!

37 thoughts on “After-Before Friday Week 26

    1. I have to agree with Katie on all points… I love the light on the buildings too! It has almost a gothic but light look. You can help me with my images anytime! On the complex… it’s just your complexity! Had much fun with the banter.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. As I said on your post, Lore, we are our own worst enemies. Worst critics is probably more accurate. I now see others versions and wish I had done some things differently or paid more attention to the image itself. But overall I’m happy. You should be, too. I loved your painterly approach!

      Like

  1. I like the effect. Very dramatic. When we are playing cards, my stepdaughter always says, “I’m winning in second place.” I kind of like that attitude. Well from this peanut gallery, I love your work.

    Like

    1. Thanks, First. Mrs. Fabulous. Whatever. I like your daughter’s attitude. But now I’m concerned that everyone will think I am serious! That I will fall into a depression and turn to drink. Well, I turned to drink last night but it wasn’t due to depression. And it was only a glass of wine. OK, 3 glasses of wine. But they were small glasses!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cee. I thought I’d comment at work today but I am bombarded. Just came on while something else is trying to download on my computer! I am really excited about how this challenge evolved and think it was a great experience. I told Stacy if she doesn’t repeat it, I just might!

      Like

  2. The “after” is really great with this image. I remember losing a bicycle race by the thickness of a tire once. I was actually riding as a domestique for a professional woman racer in a mixed class race, but I ended up in the break and got myself into a position to win, but then I just barely got nudged out by a really strong, top ranked rider. I was pretty psyched by my performance, but then the rider I was supporting, who was more than a little miffed at her own performance that day, told me “Nobody ever, ever remembers who came in second!”

    Like

    1. Well, I liked where this was going until your last line. The truth is I am pretty psyched by my performance in the processing! Now that I see the others, there are elements that I would have liked to have concentrated on more. But overall I am pleased. Thanks, Tim! (Or do you prefer Timothy?)

      Like

      1. All your quotes reminded me of that particular second place, which wasn’t my first 2nd place in bike racing, but it was my last, and is much more memorable to me than the various wins I got when I was racing.

        Tim is perfectly fine. I get called by all kinds of names, so am happy to be address as Tim 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Looks like I was commenting on your work as you were commenting on mine. I couldn’t help mentioning the sky, either. Generally you like like the tone! I would be interested, if you have the time one day, to learn what you didn’t like, or what didn’t work for you. I appreciate your eyes probably more than you do! 🙂

      Like

      1. The HDR feeling tone on the buildings works as it brings out the details and clarity. They sky feels grey and unnatural but as i said the sky was the problem area of the picture and with the large area of highlights the grey compliments it in a strange way.
        The light and contrast in the water is good but the colours could be balanced more as there is a mixture of greens in the shadow and blue in the highlights but this is going into the area of nit picking.
        The over tone is good but we were working from a jpeg with raw there would have been more leeway to in pushing the tones of the image.
        Hope you enjoyed my eyes. 🙂

        Like

  3. Emilio.. I love what you did with the image. Just as you I’ve looked at others and thought what I might have done different. It was great fun to see each take on it and to see the amazing variations. A lot of talent in this group with much to learn from. I know I learned a lot.

    Like

  4. I’m late in getting to the conversation here, but I really like what you did with the image. The result in your version has an immediate impact; it is dramatic and bold. The question of whether it was too much didn’t trouble me. All of us took different paths and ended up in different places. And that was the best part of the project: learning about other ways to interpret a scene. (I also liked your quotations.)

    Like

    1. Thanks, Robin. A while back I was criticized (severely, in my mind) by someone hyper-critical of my work. It was an attack that has continued to pop up in my mind from time to time though it has not stopped me from playing in lightroom.

      Like

  5. I like your processing on it – especially the darkening of the clouds that, to me, accentuated the rays of light streaming through them. The lighting on the buildings gives a nice effect, too.

    P.S. That Ted Turner quote cracked me up. Yeah, winning would be much better 🙂

    Like

  6. Okay, so I’m the tortoise here (or hare, if you will…) with my comments. I absolutely love what you did with the light on the buildings. That coupled with the clarity boost just makes your version sing for me. It was interesting to read everyone else’s comments – Ben, especially, made a good point about the balance of colors in the water, but darn if it wasn’t hard to even those out with a jpeg (well, for me anyway). As for the sky, yup, the blown out highlights needed work. I don’t know about AfterEffects. I took mine into PS and cloned 🙂 All in all, a great, fun after, Emilio. If everyone had even half as much fun as you, I think this was a resounding success! Thanks so much for joining in and for creating so much fun with your wonderful banter and one-liners. You made me laugh throughout 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

