One Four Challenge – Nov Week 1

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

Week 1-2Robyn G of Captivate Me has initiate a new challenge starting this week. Her introduction is as follows: This new challenge is about processing 1 image in 4 different ways over 4 weeks.  We will all  process / post edit (our own chosen image) and share a different version each week.

Process it however you like…and tell us a bit about it. You don’t even have to show the original image unless you’d like to.  Try new things, experiment.  Be as creative or subtle as you wish to be.

My original image was shot on the way back from a weekend holiday at Big Bear Lake in California. I think I will join Robyn in revealing the unprocessed version on week 4. The version above has very minimal corrections as befits the first submission of this new challenge.  I have color corrected, cropped, and added a split tone of gold to the highlights and a light purple to the shadows. I hope you enjoy!

If you like black and white, please visit Monchromia. I’m sure a version of this image will one day show up there, too!

39 thoughts on “One Four Challenge – Nov Week 1

  1. HI Emilio – welcome to the challenge!! 🙂
    What a fabulous image… love the subject and the vastness of the setting.
    Love your use of the complimentaries (purple and yellow) here with the tones and your changes.
    It will be fun to see the originals at the end. I think we’ll probably be quite surprised.

    Like

      1. Lol… I love Stacey’s challenge Emilio! Yes look at me. Funny 😊
        It will be fun experimenting with 4 different processes (or more, while we’re experimenting), seeing if they work and most of all, seeing what we can do with one good image.

        Like

  2. I’m going to really enjoy seeing where you take this photo. As usual, it’s a beauty.

    Out of curiosity, why did you chose to enhance the shadows with purple? Was this to complement the existing colour in the shadow, or to enhance the gold tones of the wood? I didn’t immediately see the purplish tone for its subtlety … if you hadn’t mentioned it, I don’t think I would have noticed.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Joanne! One of the first black and white split tones I ever used was a yellow and blue. Then I found out that this is a combination that is used a lot in motion pictures. When added to a color image, it just seems to add so much character. The original on this seemed to cry out for this technique so I played around with the colors until I got to a combination I liked!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a fabulous photo! It looks like a good gust of wind would send the whole thing toppling down. You have a knack for finding interesting subjects for your photography that give a sense of deep history.

    Like

  4. What a fun challenge, and I’m glad you’ll be showing the unprocessed version at the end! Look forward to seeing more variations of this cool image!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

