Silent Saturday

Gallery

Sedona PaintPlease click the image for a high res version

Yes, I know there is no such thing as Silent Saturday. Then again, maybe there is. Or maybe I’ll start a new trend. Point is, I didn’t want to wait till Sunday and I really had nothing to say. Except I like this image of my most favorite place in the world. Up until now, that is. I mean, maybe tomorrow (no, probably not tomorrow but one day, maybe soon) I’ll get to Machu Pichu and that will replace Sedona as my most favorite place in the entire world. Truth is, too many rich people have moved into the area for it to be my most favorite place much longer! Maybe rich people have moved into the area surrounding Machu Pichu, too. Maybe there are coffee shops and candy stores and souvenirs being hawked on street corners right now in Machu Pichu. Maybe there’s a huge cut-out of Harrison Ford in his Indiana Jones get-up that you can take selfies with for only 500 pesos.

But I like saying Machu Pichu. I always think I’m going to accidentally spit on someone when I say it. Not like Sedona. Sedona slides off the tongue like butter in your mouth. It’s a very polite sound. You can’t be polite saying Machu Pichu!

34 thoughts on “Silent Saturday

              1. Sounds like a good plan! I have to say I always wanted to visit the States, but never actually managed it until Christmas last year. I’ve visited several times since, though only really seen Washington DC and some of the surrounding areas. I’ll soon be emigrating there. Next adventure will be Route 66.

                Like

                1. I’ve only been on one part of Route 66 and it was desolate, no photo opps! But that was in a very small area of western Arizona. I hope to explore it more within the next few years. Good luck with the emigration!

                  Like

  1. Emilio besides being a ridiculously talented photographer your sense of humor keeps me laughing out loud. We have booked a cycling trip to Peru in June so i will let you know about Machu Picchu

    Sue, for some reason I could not reply to you in the usual fashion. Your reply button does not work. I wanted to say don’t tire yourselves out by cycling to the monuments. They do have public transportation! Do you guys ever stay home for more than a week at a time? And where is home?

    Like

  2. I like this post… and I love Sedona! (Well, not the down-town touristy Sedona, but we enjoy camping around Oak Creek and the West Fork hiking trail is great, too!) What’s fun is going into the touristy area after a hike… we part crowds like Moses parted the Red Sea!

    Machu Pichu is fun to say, but I’ll only visit there in photos 🙂

    Like

    1. I hate camping so I doubt I will ever camp in Oak Creek. But I see they have any number of log cabin motels that I’d like to try! And that’s a great travel tip for Sedona, first go hiking for the day THEN visit downtown. No problem with crowds!

      Like

  3. I’ve heard only wonderful things about Sedona. Another place that’s on the long list of places I want to visit someday!
    Is it just me or does this photo really project an evil Temple-of-Doom kind of vibe? I love it 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

