Make Mistakes

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

Nipton Heat

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes…you’re Doing Something.” ~~ Neil Gaiman

Yes, I know the image might seem over processed to most. Some will like it, others will detest it. Maybe detest is too strong a word. It will not be quite their cup of tea. My point is that you have to stretch yourself, don’t be afraid of what you might find or create! Or what others might say of you! That’s the secret. Maybe you’ll discover something new. Or something old that people had forgotten. Make mistakes!

When you have a moment, please visit  Monochromia.

48 thoughts on “Make Mistakes

  1. If I look at it as an HDR image I don’t like it so much as it seems too over-processed, but when I look at it as photographic art then I think it looks great. I think you do a good job at keeping the halo effects to a minimum. I agree with you in experimenting though. I’ve been doing a bit of that lately with the Nik collection I got recently. You can create some unique pieces of art that way. 🙂

    Like

    1. J.T. I appreciate your honesty. This was my reaction to someone who doesn’t like any of my work and can’t be civil about it. I can handle criticism, just not name calling! I’d love to see what you’re doing with NIK. Anything posted?

      Like

      1. I may not like all of your work but I do like most of it. But if I don’t like it, I just pass it up and never think twice about it. It’d be nice if everyone would do the same but it seems as though some people have too much time on their hands and can’t think of anything else better to do than to go and stir up some trouble with someone they don’t even know. With me, I just ignore anyone who is overly negative as I don’t want to let them bring me down.
        Anyways…I’ve posted 4 photos so far that I’ve used Nik to help with processing. I always start out in LR then go over to Nik to do a few more touch-ups then sometimes I’ll make some final tweaks in LR then export. Here are the 4 that I’ve done so far:
        http://jtaveryphotography.wordpress.com/2014/08/31/rusted-link-monochrome-madness-challenge/
        http://jtaveryphotography.wordpress.com/2014/09/01/shining-down-color-and-monochrome-rework/
        http://jtaveryphotography.wordpress.com/2014/09/07/spiked-monochrome-madness-challenge/
        http://jtaveryphotography.wordpress.com/2014/09/08/colorful-array/

        I kind of want to get in the realm of making a few painterly looking photographs but just need to find the time. For me it tends to take a bit more processing to get a look I’m happy with when going that route. I also like seeing what others are doing because it gives me ideas. That’s one of the reasons why I like viewing your photos. Otherwise I’d be stuck with doing the same thing over and over and if anything, I hate monotonous as that drives me away from doing something the most.

        Like

        1. Thank you for your comment. It really helped me put this negative “comment” into perspective. As I’ve said I don’t mid criticism but to me this went over the top. I would really appreciate it if, when I do something that you don’t like, rather than ignoring it- if you have the time- I would love a critique. I value your knowledge and your taste!

          Like

          1. The things that I don’t like are mainly due to the content rather than the composition or the processing so I’m not really sure what I would say about them anyways. But, every photographer has different taste in what they like to shoot and view. For what it’s worth, when I “Like” a photo, it means that I think it’s perfect the way it is. I think your way of doing things are unique and there’s not really any critique that I can think of giving because I enjoy viewing your photos the way that you do them. For the photos I don’t care for, I generally don’t like photos with people in them or objects that I just don’t find too appealing.

            I read a comment by another blogger yesterday that made me think a little about how we as artists or photographers should view our own work. Someone had posted how they feel the photo should look to make it more appealing and the blogger responded by stating that if they changed their art after creation, then they have failed to do what they intended to in the first place. When a photographer creates art, they have a vision of what they want it to look like. The viewer is there to either enjoy or not enjoy that work. So to me, as a photographer, it should be about creating something in a way that you see it and allow the viewer to interpret it how they want, but the photographer should not be forced to create things in a way that they don’t like just to make the viewer happy. I say this with viewing photography as a hobby and a way to express yourself, but not to create something to make money off of. If you’re trying to make a living off of it, then you need to make more people happy, but if you are doing it for yourself, then do what makes you happy.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I understand about the commenting. there are certain subjects I don’t like, flowers and kids and pets. Not that I don’t like kids or pets, but photos of them I’m not too crazy about. So I usually do not comment or “like” when someone posts those. As I mentioned somewhere else, I am working on getting a website set up but I’m not sure it’s because I want to make money out of this hobby. I think it’s more a vanity thing.

              Like

      1. It is almost time for me to have my breakfast.
        Muesli ? – toast & my-wonderful-new-seville-orange marmalade ? – rice porridge ?
        Decisions, decisions …
        I am ignoring your response, you see. [grin]

        Like

      1. Ah I did wonderful if it may have been just an Aussie thing.
        I don’t have any examples myself… but I’ll see what I can find.. Perhaps there’s a record somewhere.
        People used to use ‘Paper bark’ from trees to pain stakingly create a painting. Very clever really.

        Like

  2. M-R said exactly what I was thinking. You’ve created a photo that has a compelling texture to it.

    It’s funny that yours is the second message I’ve read today about allowing yourself to be vulnerable. I’m starting to get the message 🙂

    Like

  3. Good morning, Emilio. I like the photo. It’s more like a piece of art, and I like it a lot.
    I appreciate your message, too. *sigh* But when you make so many mistakes day after day… 😉 Helen

    Like

  4. I think it is great to step out and try things Emilio whether it be in photography or life. I love this HDR image and perhaps it give newbies like me a little more confidence to experiment.

    Like

  5. When it comes to expressing ourselves creatively, I don’t think there are mistakes – just experimentation and learning. If we don’t try new things, how can we possibly grow? If no one tried anything different, progress wouldn’t happen.

    Your emailed comment on my ‘pink’ post gives some nice background to this post. (I’ll respond when I have time to check out the video and compose a semi-coherent reply!) I’m doing some edits on a couple stories that I was going to send you to see if either of them might work for you to find a photo for… I’ll email them when done… hope tomorrow, as I’m too sleepy to trust final edits tonight.)

    Like

    1. Glad you didn’t mind the email. I can’t wait to see what you come up with as far as stories. I did not watch the video of Neil Gaiman’s commencement speech. There’s a transcript that I read and now I’m in love with the guy. He doesn’t say anything new, it’s just the way he says it.

      Like

  6. Emilio, I LOVE your attitude. I am of the mind to experiement, to wing it, to do something even if I don’t know what I am doing. The results just may surprise me. That’s how I learned how to shoot waterfalls. That and a book. (smile) I do like what you have done with this image, not quite my “cup of tea” but it is different and I can appreciate different. This shows me you are pushing past your boundaries and expanding into new. That’s good. You never know what you may discover. I was SO touched by your comment to me, Emilio, that I really want to thank you again. My BIG photo shoot this year is Niagara Falls, and yes I have been waiting for a “man”. I am going to test the “waters” so to speak with what I said to you in my other comment. Love, Amy

    Like

  7. My attitude needed an adjustment when I first read the negative comment about my work. My first reaction was to hit out. But I waited over the weekend to digest what was said, and then I received an unrelated email that put everything into better focus. So maybe sometimes its best to sit back, have a drink or two, and relax when someone gets nasty with you!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

