Sultry and Sexy

Gallery

New York New York

From a New York Times article written by Anthony Ramirez and published April 15, 2011

…[T]he United States Postal Service chose an image not of the original statue in New York Harbor but of a replica at the traffic-choked corner of Tropicana Avenue and Las Vegas Boulevard.

The service is sticking with the nip-and-tuck facsimile, a close-up of Vegas Liberty’s face, because it looks good.

An up-close visit on Friday confirmed this. Compared with the original, it appears, in fact, a lot less weather-beaten, much pout-ier, and, if such a description were ever appropriate for a national monument, far more sultry, and, frankly, sexy.

26 thoughts on “Sultry and Sexy

  1. This is frightfully confusing to an ancient Aussie: would you care to explain it to me, please, Emilio ?
    Or have you become bored by me ? – I can’t say I’d blame yer. 😀

    Like

    1. I’m not quite sure what needs to be explained. They made a replica of the Statue Of Liberty (there are several hundreds of duplicates around the world- even a few in France) but because it is Las Vegas, some contend that she is sultrier and sexier.

      Like

  2. How can I not comment on a sultry and sexy Liberty, Emilio? To be fair, I could have just ‘liked’ her and not commented but I came here thinking you had disabled your like button, as did Paula, so I’d have to think of something intelligent to say. But what I came up with is ‘why isn’t there a ‘don’t like’ button? 🙂 🙂
    Maybe I just don’t go for sexy 🙂

    Like

    1. I did disable my “like” button when I first read Paula’s explanation. Then I received quite a few discussions on why certain people use it- as a way to stay in touch, can’t think of anything intelligent to say, etc. Also, unless I did something wrong, when you disable the “like” button, people can still hit “like” on the reader, so what’s the point? Now, unlike you, I do go for sexy. But my definition certainly doesn’t extend to an inanimate object. Even if she is holding a torch for me!

      Like

  3. Thanks for the like of my post this morning. It lead to me noting the curious title of this piece and then not getting at all what I expected. And it’s okay. National Monument or not, she is pretty hot…..

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

