Making History

Gallery

Death Valley-5113

If I were a carnivore, I would say Janna’s stories are a meat eater’s delight, a steak, no a filet Mignon! There’s just so much to chew on and they melt like butter in your mouth. But please don’t let my stupid little description dissuade you from reading any of her stories. I am not a writer. Janna is!

JannaTWrites

The challenge:  write a story inspired by the photo below, provided by Emilio Pasquale.   If you didn’t read our first team-up, click here to read it!  And, if you haven’t checked out his photography site yet, you really should 🙂

An Emilio Pasquale Photo An Emilio Pasquale Photo – click it to check out his wonderful photography site!

Marianne Sutter stoked the fire with a long broken branch she’d foraged in the woods surrounding camp.  The logs, moistened by last night’s rain, had been slow to burn, but finally rewarded her with meager warmth stifled by billowing smoke.  One of the few women in camp, she kept to herself.

“Well, well, Ms. Sutter.  How ‘about you warm yerself by my fire?”  The man gave an exaggerated wink.

“No thank you, Mr. Muehlling.” Her revulsion at his advances culminated in a deep shiver that she hoped had been concealed by her wool overcoat.

View original post 1,211 more words

11 thoughts on “Making History

      1. Well how come I never saw it then ? – answer me THAT !
        OK, don’t. I’m a maroon, we can both agree.
        What have you been doing, anyway ? – where have you been ?

        Like

  1. That was such a creative (and flattering) intro, Emilio. Perhaps you are a writer 🙂

    Thank you again for providing one of your photos for me to write a story from. Your photography is inspiring… and creating the story is great fun!

    Hey, I noticed you added a copyright to the image you posted here… do you want to copyright your images that I post on my blog with the story? I think it’s a good idea, and I can just make a note, used with owner’s permission, or something of the sort…

    Like

    1. At least I didn’t compare YOU to a piece of meat- only your writing. 😉 As you mentioned, I just started adding a copyright notice to my photos (for whatever good that might do, I’m not sure). So yes, it might be an idea to make notation next time. But if you forget, no problem. If it ever came to it, I might even be flattered if someone stole one of my photos.

      Like

      1. Haha, I’ve never been compared to a piece of meat, so I seriously doubt at my age there’s any danger of that happening!

        I will certainly make the notation. If you don’t have the copyright on it when you sent it to me, I can add it.

        Would you like me to steal one of your photos? (Crud, I’d make a lousy thief… it’s not stealing if you ask…)

        Like

  2. JANNA! DID YOU HEAR THAT? Thanks, Imelda. That,s a great compliment. For both of us. We’re talking about making it a regular bit between the two of us. Probably towards the end of each month. Hope you come back!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

