Magical Mystery Tour

Prompts and Challenges

11452218033_be75bbf41b_b

I assure you this will not be a very magical, nor mysterical, tour. It will be a virtual blog tour which Joanne Sisco invited me on and which I, in turn, have invited Laurie and West to join in on. My part of the tour will commence as soon as you complete this sentence, if you proceed along after that. Laurie and West will continue on next week. On Monday, July 21st to be exact!

The gentleman in the photo above? Just ignore him! He is there merely due to the fact that this being a photo blog, it therefore behooves me to include a photo.

I am behooved.

OK!

What Is The Virtual Blog Tour?

The rules are simple.  The participant (me) composes a one-time post which is posted on a specified Monday (today, July 14) provided by the person (Joanne Sisco) who has invited the participant (me) on the tour.  There are 4 questions that need responses:

      1. What am I working on?
      2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?
      3. Why do I write/create what I do?
      4. How does your writing/creating process work?

The answers to these four questions should give other bloggers and visitors a bit of insight as to what inspires us to do what we do.

The tour is then passed on to up to four other bloggers.  (This time only two, Laurie and West. But what a pair!) Their permission is obtained in advance and they are given the rules and the specific Monday they are to post their responses.

My Response to These Four Questions

What am I working on?

Funny you should ask. I have drastically cut back on my posting here (at Photos By Emilio) to contribute each Tuesday to the new black and white blog Monochromia, which I hope you have all visited at least once if not a dozen times already. It is comprised of six very talented photographers, and me! That is not merely feigned modesty. I was told when I first started this blog that I could not call myself a photographer unless I made money at it. Since I tend to give my work away to family and friends, I guess that excludes me from the club! Oh, well! I (we, my wife and I) are also working on a photo book which has a twist that I can not divulge but that would hopefully set it apart from the other 723,000 photo books that will be published this year. We have distributed advance copies to trusted family and friends and the comments are so far all positive (well, of course they’re all positive. They’re from family and friends!)

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I do not have the vaguest idea how anybody’s photography differs from any body else’s nowadays! I mean, if you can point your cell phone- you don’t even have to know how to focus- you’re a photographer! Me, I love Lightroom. I enjoy playing for hours on end with an image until I get it just right. And then I’ll try 36 other variations! While I’m on the pc, my wife is on the couch, reading, until she nods asleep and I have to carry her into bed. Well, I don’t actually carry her. I shake her until she comes to and then take her by the arm for support and lead her into bed. Then I take advantage of her!

Why do I write/create what I do?

I have always been a creative person.  In high school I was a member of the drama club and choir. And I also played the tenor saxophone. I did none of them very well. In college, I majored in Theater as a director, worked on my Master’s, then quit to join the real world. Let me tell you the real world is over-rated!

When I came into a little money ($2000 as a bonus for something I did at work) my then girlfriend, who is now my wife, said not to waste it on bills but to go buy myself a camera. So I did. (When we married, we had no money for a honeymoon and so ended up at a Costco in Illinois, bought a cake, and brought it home to feed the gathering hordes.)

Photography is my creative outlet.  I’ve tried creative writing, but it always feels too much like work. So my blog is mostly devoid of narrative!

How does my writing/creating process work?

I do not have a process. I read and follow a lot of Photography blogs, subscribe to youtube videos, and look at others images on 500px and Flickr. The amount of talent out there is prodigious. I sometimes become morose, despondent that my images look nothing like those. Then I rationalize that I am still learning. But as for my process, my wife and I like to be spontaneous by planning road trips approximately every two weeks. In fact, we have one planned for this weekend. We will head out on one of the many highways nearby, travel 50 miles, then take the first exit and explore. Lately we have had to push it to 75 miles. This weekend I think we’ll actually be travelling closer to 100 miles. To a place called Pine Mountain in the southern end of Utah! When we get home, I will no doubt transfer my new images to the pc. My wife will retreat to the sofa. After several hours I will shake her awake, accompany her to bed, and then to sleep.

Good night!

Passing on the Tour

I, at first, hesitated when asked to do this tour. Not because I didn’t know what to say (obviously) but because I did not wish to impose or have somebody feel that they might hurt my feeling by saying no. So I found two young ladies who I imposed upon and were reluctant to lose my friendship by turning me down. They are:

West517, whom I call West for lack of a better name. I could call her 517, I suppose. 5 for short! But as I have written just recently, her blog is called The World We Know. Her style of post processing whether it be a preset, or of her own making colors everything in a haze of nostalgia. And she loves old signs! Go visit her and let me know what you think.

And there’s Laurie of Life On The Bike And Other Fab Things who, after at least one hair- raising accident, is still driving her Harley (at least I seem to remember it as a Harley. If I’m mistaken, she will correct me, I’m sure.) and taking photos that she thinks are just average

West and Laurie will be posting their responses to the Virtual Blog Tour on Monday, July 21st.

So thanks for joining me on this tour and following me all the way to the end. This is the end. You can stop reading now.

Good night!

18 thoughts on “Magical Mystery Tour

  1. What’s this ? – *I* am being asked to fill in my details as if you don’t know me ??????
    HUMPH !
    I shall think about whether or not to bother.
    What’s it all about, Alfie Emilio ?

    Like

  2. Whatever your process is, it totally works. I’m rather new to your blog, but I’m impressed with your eye for photography. Your images never disappoint 🙂

    Hope you have fun on your weekend exploration!

    Like

    1. And your stories never tend to disappoint! So, we didn’t make it to Southern Utah like we had planned but we did manage to get out around 2:30. And I managed to get some good shots, I think. I’ll share one or two at the end of the week.

      Like

          1. Oh no— I wasn’t laughing at your post – just what you said about Joe… 🙂 I liked your responses — mine won’t be half as entertaining I’m afraid ~

            Like

  3. I missed your post when I went away on vacation and I’m just finding it now. Wonderful! You made me laugh out loud. You might not write very much but you have a wicked sense of humour 🙂
    … and I love your pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

