Nostalgia Ain’t What It Used To Be!

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

Drink 2

The earliest evidence of this expression known to Quote Investigator was published in a 1959 novel titled “The Tents of Wickedness” by Peter De Vries.

No. Nostalgia, as his Uncle Joshua had said, ain’t what it used to be.

Which made it pretty complete. Nothing was what it used to be — not even nostalgia.

This is for my buddy West at The World We Know. Her style of post processing whether it be a preset, or of her own making colors everything in a haze of nostalgia. And she loves old signs! Go visit her and let me know what you think.

 

41 thoughts on “Nostalgia Ain’t What It Used To Be!

  1. I love her lifeguard sign photo. Very cool. I think she will be delighted with your Coca Cola work. Looks like some target practice was involved in days back.

    Like

  2. This picture is perfect for the theme nostalgia. Very good processing, i wish I was able to do that ! Anyway, I’m glad I’ve found your blog, and I’m going to check the blog you recommend as well.

    Like

  3. Emilio!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ this SOOO much!!!! love, love, love, love!!! 🙂 I have a Coca~Cola on my desk at this very moment… OK I'm loving everything about this- (Did I say that already?) Fantastic processing – the distressed turquoise, rust and vintage reds are positively delicious! Am SOOO reblogging this!! ❤

    Like

    1. Thanks! Things go better with Coke. Now, what I’d like you to do is take this shot and do your magic with it. If you’d like the original to work with, just ask! Do you mind? Only if you have the time.

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

