A Dark And Stormy Night

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges
After

After

Before

Before

After-Before Friday (Week 6) is a forum run by Stacy Fisher which “provides an opportunity for photographers (amateur and seasoned, alike) to share their photos, and if they wish, their post-processing decisions. The goal is to enjoy a behind-the-scenes look at others’ work while picking up helpful ideas along the way that each of us can use as we work with our own photos.”

A Dark And Stormy Night was actually an overcast but warm afternoon in Encinitas, California. My wife and I were driving around a neighborhood two blocks up from the beach when we came upon this sight. The “boats” have never been to sea but were built in the late 1920’s using timber salvaged from a local bathhouse and a hotel. The Preservation Association purchased the houses in 2008 and currently rent both out as private dwellings.

All post processing was accomplished through Lightroom 5.4 only. This was probably the most intensive post processing I have ever done with any of my images and to explain the steps would probably be boring. But if you have any specific questions, please ask in the comments and I will gladly respond.

I am very pleased to announce that on Tuesday, July 1, Joe Giordano of The Visual Chronicle will be  launching a new blog to which I will be one of 7 contributors- each of us posting once a week.  It will be a black and white only photo blog titled Monochromia. I have the distinction of being the premier contributor by dint of a random drawing of names from a hat! If black and white photography is one of your passions, I hope we do not disappoint. If you do not particularly care for black and white photography, please at least give us one week to hopefully change your mind.

 

42 thoughts on “A Dark And Stormy Night

  1. Saw this on the Visual Venturing site. Pretty Impressive rescue effort. But much more than that, actually. I really like the stylistic look of the final result. The tone and colors seem to evoke an earlier time, perhaps mid-20th century. Very well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know how I missed your comment till now. Thank you for the incisive comment. I was going for a tropical kind of look because that always seems fun. But, yes, it was a definite stylistic choice.

      Like

  2. I love the post-processing result Emilio. And I shall be heading over to Monochromia when it starts. I have developed a real liking for black and white in recent months. Especially b&w street photography.

    Like

  3. Emilio, I love that you used only LR 5.4. It’s an amazingly powerful platform, and one that I use almost exclusively. Like Robin and Janna said, I love the tonal choices you made in post-processing. Apart from the vintage feel, the warm tones and your choice of turquoise over blue just make me “feel” the beach in the photo!

    Congratulations on the Monochromia gig. I’ll definitely be stopping by (will you be posting links on your blog to your posts?) And thanks so much for participating in ABFriday. Hope we’ll see more of your great work there!

    Like

    1. I love ABFriday, though I doubt I can tell anybody exactly what I do on any of my photos. A lot of it is exploring- “let’s see what this slider will do”! I already have my next photo ready for you, also taken while we were in Encinitas a few weeks ago. And yes, I will post a link on my blog to Monochromia on Tuesday. So far I’ve seen only mine and one other. I can’t wait to see them all.

      Like

  4. Nice processing on this photo. I like this idea of showing a before and after shot to see what it looked like straight from camera and what you were able to transform it into. I think I might start doing this. 🙂

    I can’t wait to see the new site. It sounds interesting. Looking forward to it. 🙂

    Like

  5. It looks like two photos taken at two very different moment during the day. I think it gives a very good idea for those who do not have post-processing software what miracle you can make with this type of software

    Like

  6. I agree. I used to use Picassa or Picmonkey when I first discovered post processing And they are great for being free software. But Lightroom is so powerful that a lot of times I can salvage a shot that seems to be unusable!

    Like

  7. I loved seeing both versions of the photo and since they are so different, I wouldn’t want to pick a favourite. Having said that, in the after picture the fire hydrant on the right really jumps out at me. It seems like such an unusual thing to see in relation to a boat. Love it!

    Like

  8. I so appreciate that you showed the before and after. I am so critical of my work (I guess we all are critical of our work sometimes) and it’s nice to know that the photography of those I admire doesn’t come out of the camera the way it appears on the blog. Not sure if that makes sense … but I love the sky in the post image. Wonderful!

    Like

    1. I like this challenge and will have another this Friday. I’ll try to explain my processing choices which only a few will find interesting, I’m sure. The sky on this shot did take some work as the middle was blown out when I opened up the shadows. But I’m happy with the results. Thanks for your comment! Oh, and hows the bike?

      Like

      1. I am so happy to be riding again.
        In fact, I left my office this evening and knowing that I needed to clear my brain, I took off for a nice long evening ride.
        Happy Sigh!
        Thanks for asking!

        Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

