Weekly Photo Challenge: Between

Prompts and Challenges

untitled-26

Why this image? I know it’s not the most exciting. My wife even said “It’s OK, I just feel like I’ve seen it before!” But for me it was a breakthrough, of sorts. We were in Encinitas for a few days for my niece’s high school graduation. I decided to take the day off from family and explore. This was not the ideal spot to take photos- no interesting foreground, no pier- but you work with what you’ve got. So I parked myself there and set up the tripod and camera. I waited almost two hours for the sunset. That’s when I noticed the fog bank across the horizon. When the sun first dipped behind it, there was nothing to see. I almost packed everything up and left. But I remembered one of the many blog posts I read stating you never know what the weather will do. So I sat some more. And waited. And at the last minute, the setting sun peeked through the fog, and as quickly disappeared below the horizon. The epiphany?

“It ain’t over till the fat lady sings!”– (attributed to both sportscaster Dan Cook and sports journalist Ralph Carpenter)

Oh, and the challenge for this week? Well, we’re between day and night in this shot. (I know, It’s a stretch!)

54 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Between

    1. The only thing I failed to mention was that once the sun dropped, so did the temperature. It still gets pretty cold out at night on the beach when you’re only in shirt sleeves. And pants, I had pants on, too. But, still….

      Like

    1. Thanks, Madhu. Then it works for me, too. I do understand what my wife was expressing, and I agree with her. But what imge hasn’t been taken before? What book hasn’t been written before?

      Like

  1. It’s a beautiful photo, Emilio, and the fact that there are many beautiful sunset photos says nothing about the quality of your shot but everything about the quality of sunsets. I like that you caught some people in there, giving it perspective and interest without losing focus (so to speak) on the sunset itself.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Janet. No matter how many sunsets I see- and I hope to see many more- I always am taken by the beauty. How many photos of sunsets do I already have? How many more will I take in my lifetime? Who knows?

      Like

    1. Thank you yes have you ever tried reading James Joyce’s Ulysses it’s impossible when he does not use punctuation marks like yes and then he asked me would I yes to say yes my mountain flower and first I put my arms around him yes and drew him down to me so he could feel my breasts all perfume yes and his heart was going like mad and yes I said yes I will Yes.

      Like

  2. See? – while you have trouble with the idea of standing out on a ledge, I can’t imagine WAITING 2 hours to take a picture!

    The photo is very beautiful though and I agree with Christina Olsson – your story added to the magic of the picture 🙂

    Like

  3. I never realised that the light of a sunset can change from one minute to the other until Istarted shoothing some sunset, it’s not for nothing that this time of the day is called the “Golden Hour” and if you add to that some clouds, it’s majestic. I thinkn that I am due for a sunset shooting soon

    Like

    1. Beautiful sunsets out here (in Nevada) seem to be rare. The skies are usually bright blue all day so, when the sun drops we just go from blue, to gray, to black. Sometimes there’s a bit of yellow mixed in for a brief second or two. That’s why I go crazy whenever I’m on vacation or there’s a single cloud in the sky!

      Like

  4. Hi Emilio, it’s a very strong picture! Arent’ the strongest impression sometimes because you THINK you know something very good, but nw you FEEL different of it? For example: I listen nearly every day Faith No More for nearly….ömm…..20years? While watching your pic, I listened to ‘Ashes to Ashes’ and guess what? New experience! Never noted how much impressed I am of the drums.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like the photo. Then again, I’m a sucker for sunsets over water (perhaps because I’ve resided in desert locale for most of my life?) I’m glad your patience paid off, here. It reminds me of a vacation to Maui we took a couple years ago. I really wanted to capture a Hawaiian sunset over the ocean but each of the four evenings I was able to dedicate to waiting for sunset, the clouds rolled in and I didn’t get the sunset photo I had imagined. Some ‘near sunsets’ but not an official one. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. well the funny thing is that before I came here, someone said they thought my take on the challenge was “weak” – and while I could see there view – and it was not an insult- I replied with my personal like for the selection. and then I come over here to see that you sorta did that too – you picked a photo that meant something to you. and dude, I think that says so much – about you as a blogger and as a photographer – because when your heart selects a photo – and when it is not necessarily to impress – well those are the things that give the essence and hue of you. and while I know at times it is all about flexing muscle as a photographer – other times it is personal and the selections come from our lens and from our person.

    oh and I also like the little vertical people in the shot – my eye was drawn to them right away and it seems that so often we get these amazing beach shots with no people – and so your wonderful capture has that feeling of life – and your patience did pay off with a beautiful capture!

    Like

    1. Y, you obviously put some thought into your comment here and I wanted to do the same. I first read this around June 24 or 25, deciding I would come back to it when I had the time to adequately respond. Then I, of course, forgot! That is why such a late response. And now I understand you are taking a summer break so you might never see this. Still, how rude of me to not even try to respond! So, here’s my attempt. I am often at odds with my wife when it comes to my photography. She will like something and I will not be able to see why. Then she will not especially like some of my processing that I love! Ah, well. We have not yet come to blows so it’s all good! 🙂 But don’t get me wrong, I am always trying to impress, or flex my artistic muscles. If I wasn’t, then I would not have posted this photo with an explanation. I would have just posted it and to heck with what it meant to me. Either the viewer likes it or doesn’t. Right? I’m not that sure of myself, yet, so had to justify my posting! And the little vertical people in the shot? My first inclination was to get rid of them- easy enough in lightroom. I don’t know why I left them in. Maybe, as you say, they give the photo that feeling of life. So I’m happy you liked it, and do hope when you are back to posting, that you visit again!

      Like

  7. Great sunset photo! Sometimes it also pays to wait until after the sun has gone down below the horizon. When its rays shine upward, you may see wonderful colors and highlights in the clouds.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

