The Last Two People On Earth

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

untitled-5620

The road was washed away in places. White polished stones broke through the aged tar, grabbing at our tires. We slowed over rutted concrete and the gravel kicked up by our tires clanged on the underbelly of the car. All around us was the valley floor, flat, without feature. A whirling dervish of sand was kicked up by the wind. We closed the windows. No other car passed, no other car was visible on this desolate band of narrow road. We were out exploring again. After about thirty minutes of travel there was a gate across the road. Locked. Lynn looked over at me and smiled. She does not take to being told what she can and cannot do. Fences and chains and gates are anathema to her.

“Shall we?”

We shall, and did. We got out and left the car there, in the middle of the road. I watched her climb over the gate. I stepped around it. This section of the road had not been traveled on for quite some time. It was in perfect repair; a constant up-grade that tired us out as we walked. When we reached the top of the hill, beyond us was an old deserted mine with a rusting field office and tanks for processing and storage. A fine polished gray powdery sand was underfoot and stacked in large, unmarked, thick, clear plastic bags. There were wooden pallets all around but not yet weathered by the sun. It was as if the place was newly deserted. And we were the last two people on earth.

Well, as I see it, we’d better get to re-populating pretty damn soon!

untitled-5618

The above description was influenced by the WordPress Daily Post challenge, which stated:

“Today’s twist: organize your post around the description of a setting.

Giving your readers a clear sense of the space where your story unfolds will help them plunge deeper into your writing. Whether it’s a room, a house, a town, or something entirely different (a cave? a spaceship?), provide concrete details to set this place apart — and to create a more immersive reading experience.”

 

23 thoughts on “The Last Two People On Earth

  1. You did not. Far from ! – you wrote a really good descriptive piece, and I felt as if I were there. A bit worried about the grey sand that someone had started to stuff into bags, but, Emilio …

    Like

    1. We did not what? Thank you for the compliment, it really means a lot to me. As I get more secure with my photography I get less secure with my writing. I’m not saying I’m the photographer I want to be, yet. Who knows when that will- if ever- happen. I just don’t make apologies for it anymore. But the writing? Maybe every day should be Silent Sunday or Wordless Wednesday for me. The writing is tough!

      Like

      1. Yeah sometimes we have to sacrifice ourselves for the good cause… 😉 😎

        No the inspiring part for me was the connection between the photos and the words
        I guess we all at least once probably more – will end up meeting the requirement that we should take responsibility – at least for ourselves… 🙂

        Like

    1. You want more? Me, too. When we got home we tried to look up the place on Google maps but only found unnamed roads out there. A strange place. I do have more photos, though. I will post them one day. Thanks, Jann!

      Like

  2. The photos remind of a copper mine we saw near Jerome, AZ. I like the scene you described but was a little uneasy with the bagged sand and the newly-abandoned appearance. It makes me want to know more about what preceded this 🙂

    Like

  3. You were uneasy? How do you think I felt? But Lynn is the bold one in this family so, wherever she goes, I follow. If I had been alone out there I never would have gone past the gate.

    Like

  4. I love the part when you said Lyne climbed over the gate, I stepped around it (sounded like a line from the movie Airplane) Emilio. Great writing and images 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

