Valley Of Fire

Gallery

 

14112912241_57585b44ce_bValley of Fire is Nevada’s oldest and largest state park, dedicated in 1935. Ancient trees and early man are represented throughout the park by areas of petrified wood and 3,000 year-old Indian petroglyphs, both easily accesible to the most timid of hikers. Exit 75 is just 55 miles northeast of Las Vegas off Interstate 15. The historic cabins, pictured above, were built with Valley of Fire sandstone by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) in the 1930’s for travelers.

18 thoughts on “Valley Of Fire

    1. Funny how yours is one of the first comments I look for whenever I post. I wasn’t sure if you’d like this or not. To tell the truth, I only darkened the sky to bring out the colors, they were too washed out when I took the shot. And I highlighted the front of the cabins because they were too dark. Did I pass?

      Like

    1. Ever since coming to the southwest I love the red clay. Other mountains just seem to be lacking now. It’s the play of colors; bright blue sky against the red, dotted with green trees and bushes…

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

