In An Instant

Gallery

Green bus 1

Last week, late Tuesday morning, we received a frantic phone call from our sister-in-law. She had just dropped the kids off when a school bus ran the stop sign and totaled her car. While she was in it. The paramedics had to pry the phone from her hand as she was asking us to take care of her children in case she didn’t make it. She was in so much pain that she thought she was going to die. That was one week ago and she is still in pain, though the doctors say nothing was broken. Yesterday there was a report in the local newspaper that stated: “One person was hospitalized following a crash involving a moped and a school bus in the southwest valley Monday morning.” Two school bus accidents within a week. You’ve got to wonder how difficult the tests, how high the standards, for school bus drivers nowadays.

39 thoughts on “In An Instant

  1. Oh, Emilio, thank God, your sister-in-law is OK. How horrifying. And your photo made me shutter. Yes, it does make one wonder how stringent the driving tests are for school bus drivers. Wow! (((HUGS))) Amy

    Like

      1. Thank you, Emilio. When things like this happen, so many of us jump on the judgment wagon. I’ve learned to step back and try to understand the WHY behind the action. I just spoke to one of the men putting in our new windows who used to be a school bus driver. It is NO picnic what these drivers go through with these kids. I’m just relieved your sis-in-law is OK. Love, Amy

        Like

    1. Thanks, Cee. We all are. Lynn (my wife) has been staying over there since last Tuesday and has been driving the kids to school, making dinner for them. She’s that type, needs to help!

      Like

  2. so sorry to hear about your sister-in-law. I hope her recovery is quick.
    A few summers ago, we had a similiar cluster of accidents involving garbage trucks and pedestrians /cyclists. Each involved a fatality. I worry that there is always so much pressure to do more, faster. Sooner or later, mistakes get made 😦

    Like

  3. Great photo, sorry about your sister-in-law, I hope she mends quickly. School bus drivers go thru district training helping them prepare to take 3 tests to get a CDL-B permit. When they have also passed a driving test for the district and a pre-trip inspection, the district signs off on their credentials and they can go get the permit changed to a license. While they are not all older, many of them are and my own personal experience is that it becomes harder to stay sharp and focused if you are tired. Since they are up early to do their route, it can become dicey.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Mike, for your insight. I was already to blame the bus driver. But it was an accident! Of course, someone has to be found at fault. And the lawyers are already circling.

      Like

      1. He got fired and they changed their hiring process because he had an history of DUI with his own car ….. I was also flabergasted when I read that story in the newspaper

        Like

    1. Thank you. Yeah, it was a bit traumatic. All I could hear was my wife saying “just take a deep breath”. Her pain has been in her belly and her shoulder. It’s obvious to me that it’s bruising from the seat belt. But the doctor says she’s in too much pain for it to be only that. We are waiting for MRI test results now.

      Like

  4. I’m truly sorry to learn that, Emilio. The poor woman ! I am concerned about her being in pain without anything broken: are the medicos absolutely sure there are no internal injuries ? – it seems weird …
    Your photo is a perfect, aged example of what’s distressing you …

    Like

    1. Thanks M-R! I have very little faith in doctors so don’t get me started. But she had an MRI Monday and they said 7 to 10 days for the results so we are waiting for that. I’ll let you know.

      Like

  5. So sorry to hear this Emilio; I hope she recovers soon. It must have been a great shock for Lynn too. Looking ahead a bit, her sister may well need some help getting her confidence back as far as driving is concerned; these experiences can sometimes affect people in the longer term a lot more than at first appears.

    Like

    1. I know. I was thinking about that this morning. They’re going for physical therapy this morning and Lynn said if the therapist decides it’s OK, they will rent a car and Lynn will come home. But I don’t think she’ll be comfortable driving for awhile.

      Like

  6. What a horrible thing to live through for all of you. I am so glad to hear that your sister-in-law can still be with her children, and I hope the pain will go away and she will get better soon. I can only imagine how shocking all this must have been.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Elina. I think we all rise to the occasion when something like this happens. It;s only afterwards that shock sets in. You start to really think about what happened and the consequences for each possibility. What if she really hadn’t made it? Would we be raising her kids? Stuff like that. Neither my wife nor I want kids right now. But if it happened we certainly wouldn’t turn our backs. Well, I guess we don’t have to think about something like that just yet.

      Like

      1. That’s so true. In an instant your life could take a whole new direction. I guess only time will help getting over the shock. All the best and lots of strength for your family!

        Like

  7. Love the photo and I pray your s-i-l recovers completely. When we lived in Cleveland, the joke was that to be a bus driver, you had to be a felon, something that really wasn’t a joke. The way many children behave, or don’t, on the bus, it’s a wonder anyone will drive the buses.

    janet

    Like

  8. All the best to your sister-in-law. I know someone who drives the school bus route here in Hastings, New Zealand. It is not an easy job and children can be very distracting for the driver. That said there is no excuse for running a stop sign. Love the photo. 😀 ❤

    Like

  9. I hope your sister-in-law is doing OK now. What a terrible thing to happen! I know my kids used to tell me years ago how it terrified them the way some of the school bus drivers used to drive.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

