Shiny Objects

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

Ferris

Part of Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge.

The first ferris wheel was designed by George W. Ferris, a bridge-builder from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He built the Ferris Wheel for the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago. The Chicago Fair’s organizers wanted something that would rival the Eiffel Tower. Gustave Eiffel had built the tower for the Paris World’s Fair of 1889. It was considered an engineering wonder: the ride cost fifty cents and made $726,805.50 during the World’s Fair. The original Ferris Wheel was destroyed in 1906.

An open letter to CEE:

I had this photo all ready for your Fun Foto Challenge for today but now think maybe I’m off a bit (well, we know I’m off by a little more than a bit)! Maybe that challenge is for next week? But I can’t wait. It’s not your fault, it’s mine. I’m afraid if I have to wait a week I will forget that it’s sitting here waiting to be posted. So I will be the first unofficial submission to your challenge titled “Shiny Objects”. No matter when you decide to have it!

 

21 thoughts on “Shiny Objects

  1. I can see why you were so eager to post, it’s an incredible photo, plus it’s perfect for the theme next week 😉 And I never knew there was a Mr Ferris, I had always assumed it had something to do with being made of iron!

    Like

      1. Yes we are just back from Vegas and had a ride on it. Really impressive. I’d welcome your feedback on the photos on my last two posts if you have a minute to take a look.

        Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

