Solitude

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

“I live in that solitude which is painful in youth, but delicious in the years of maturity.” ~~ Albert Einstein

Mr. Einstein must have been very proud of himself for coming up with this quote for he repeated it time…

“Solitude is painful when one is young, but delightful when one is more mature.”

and again…

“The monotony and solitude of a quiet life stimulates the creative mind.”

Well, so what if that last quote isn’t quite the same. It conveys the same spirit. It has taken me a long time to be comfortable in my solitude. I believe you need a creative outlet to enjoy being alone. For me, it is photography. As long as I am with my camera, I am never alone. Yes, I love my wife, even more than my camera. But no matter how quiet we might be when together, we are together. Not alone. Not in solitude.

I am not much of a writer. Maybe that is why I took up the camera, to express myself. So below is a photo I took not too long ago that expresses solitude to me. Most of my photos seem to have a lonely quality to them. But it is not loneliness, I now realize. It is the love, the longing, for solitude.

Death Valley-5143

Introverts Blog Quietly – Weekly Writing Challenge | 61 Musings.

72 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. There you go, Emilio – Cee doesn’t think you’re a dud at writing … and neither do I. Worry less !
    Enjoy your solitude, you and Lynn. I certainly enjoy mine…

    Like

              1. I DID NOT !!! – I made one of my oh-so-frequent typos. Dunno what’s happening to my fingers. S’pose it’s the same as what’s happening to my brain.
                WWWOOOOOOOUUUUUAAAAaaaahhhhhh ! 😥

                Like

  2. Your photo really captures that feeling of exhilaration and inner peace that being alone with the camera in a wonderful environment can bring. I agree with you when you say solititude becomes easier as you get older.

    Like

  3. I’ve been on that road. And I will be again this fall. Nevada is definitely for those who are comfortable with themselves. Beautiful capture of the light and the mountains and the clouds.

    Like

      1. You are very welcome Emilio. There are days when I can’t comment much but know that my ‘likes’ say it all. You are an excellent and very talented photographer. 😀

        Like

          1. LOL! I love it and glad to hear the two of you are getting along now. 😀

            There are days where I can’t find the words to explain how I feel or when I am totally in awe. Can you imagine how that feels? Thanks to the ‘like’ button I don’t get frustrated then because I can’t find the words. They should add more buttons though, like ‘Awesome’, ‘Amazing’ or ‘Stunning’. 😆

            Like

  4. I could be happily solitary there, Emilio. 🙂 I’m going to Glasgow tomorrow and I shall still be solitary, in spite of the crowds.
    Love the way you express yourself. Debbie directed me here. Nice to meet you 🙂

    Like

    1. How rude of me to have missed responding to your comment. My excuse is that, well, I never saw it. I don’t know why. But thank you, Jo, for coming by and stopping to say hello. And how was Glasgow? Any pictures? Was it as crowded as you thought it would be? I’m going to go to your blog now to see if maybe you posted something about Glasgow!

      Like

      1. It’s hard keeping track of all the comments, Emilio, but I’m delighted that you found me 🙂 I guess you know the answer about Glasgow by now. Wet! But a great experience. Many thanks for your kind comments.

        Like

  5. I really like what you’ve written here and don’t underestimate your talent as a writer. I think both what you wrote and photographed are worthy of publishing. Solitude is indeed often misunderstood but most often feared, I’m afraid. I suppose the creative people know what I’m talking about?

    Like

  6. Emilio – just had to chime in – love the awesome photo – and would like to drive on that road someday. but also enjoyed each quote and then this was my fav:
    ” As long as I am with my camera, I am never alone. Yes, I love my wife, even more than my camera. But no matter how quiet we might be when together, we are together….”
    so good – and a reminder that good writing does not always have to be long – it can be succinct and dense! 🙂 ~y.

    Like

    1. I really don’t know how I missed most of the comments on this post. Especially when they are so complimentary. I just feel like basking for a moment.

      OK, that felt great. Thank you. Now, back to work.

      (Wait a second. Did you just call me dense?)

      Like

  7. Thank you, Jann. I took a quick look at your blog and really enjoy the visuals. Though I normally shy away from corporate or business blogs I will definitely be visiting when I have more time.

    Like

  8. Emilio, the follow button is up and working. Thank you. I love this photo because I love to travel and travel by driving. The lure of the road is very real to me and each summer we travel to Wyoming and love every minute of the drive.

    As for the quotes, I have stolen them to put in my quote file and trot out at an appropriate time on my own blog. 🙂 I don’t think Albert will mind, do you?

    janet

    Like

  9. You are right, solitude is not the same as loneliness. I enjoy solitude but loneliness feels edgy, like there is something/someone missing. Great photo of a journey into the big unknown – and the solitude to hear your own thoughts and heart beat.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

