Thursday’s Special: Sunkissed

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

Thursday's Special: Sunkissed

Thursday’s Special: Sunkissed | Lost in Translation.

“Joshua trees are fast growers for the desert; new seedlings may grow at an average rate of 7.6 cm (3.0 in) per year in their first ten years, then only grow about 3.8 cm (1.5 in) per year thereafter.[15] The trunk of a Joshua tree is made of thousands of small fibers and lacks annual growth rings, making it difficult to determine the tree’s age. This tree has a top-heavy branch system, but also has what has been described as a “deep and extensive” root system, with roots possibly reaching up to 11 m (36 ft) away.[2] If it survives the rigors of the desert it can live for hundreds of years with some specimens surviving up to a thousand years. The tallest trees reach about 15 m (49 ft). New plants can grow from seed, but in some populations, new stems grow from underground rhizomes that spread out around the Joshua tree”. (My source, as usual, is Wikipedia)

This photo was taken in Joshua Tree National Park, part of the Mojave National Preserve CA. Approximately 8 feet tall, this tree was engulfed by a wildfire last year that destroyed various abandoned wooden structures nearby but still stands. Only now it stands alone.

42 thoughts on “Thursday’s Special: Sunkissed

    1. I wish you could see it in person. You drive through a forest of these trees that are scraggly in comparison and then this one stands pretty much alone. It’s my wife’s favorite!

      Like

      1. Yes! I love sharing Actually, I’m not crazy about the way that WordPress sets up the tweets so I always re-do them. I pasted in a copy of the tweet below. But I commented on why I was tweeting the link, then the name and link to your blog, then I always add a “on the blog” and a link just to the home page of the blog as well then I use the hashtags to categorize it for my followers. I think adding the second general link to your blog makes it more clear that it is not my work. Hope this is OK with you, I would never attempt to claim your work, I love it though!

        Amy Maranto ‏@marantophoto 21h
        Beautiful light in this photo:Thursday’s Special: Sunkissed http://wp.me/p44x96-9u on the blog:https://emiliopasquale.wordpress.com #nature #photography

        You could also go to twitter and look me up @marantophoto and scroll through my tweets and see how it looks there.

        I hope this looks OK to you?
        Cheers!

        Like

  1. I have wanted to see a Joshua tree in person for such a long time 🙂 I think it is marvelous that you had an opportunity to take a photo of it, and I like the effect of the sun making a star through its branches. Thank you for this beautiful contribution. Btw, Thursday’s Special invites bloggers to post whatever they like (it is not necessary to follow my theme ;)). But I love what you did and I am very happy to include your link.

    Like

    1. I don’t want to get hokey but it was a sort of spiritual experience. When we first saw it there was only an old deserted wooden shack nearby. And behind us (in the East) there was a lightning storm between distant clouds.

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

