Black and White Wednesday- Ghost Rider

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

The Goldwell Open Air Museum is an outdoor sculpture park near the ghost town of Rhyolite in the U.S. state of Nevada, about 120 miles (190 km) northwest of Las Vegas. About 5 miles (8.0 km) further west is Death Valley National Park. In addition to the museum, the site includes the Red Barn Art Center, the ruins of a jail and other buildings of the historic mining town of Bullfrog.

The nonprofit museum was organized in 2000 after the death of Albert Szukalski, the Belgian artist who created the site’s first sculptures in 1984 near the abandoned railway station in Rhyolite. The sculpture, The Last Supper, consists of ghostly life-sized forms arranged as in the painting The Last Supper by Leonardo da Vinci. Szukalski molded his shapes by draping plaster-soaked burlap over live models until the plaster dried enough to stand on its own. In the same year, using the same techniques, Szukalski also created Ghost Rider, a plaster figure preparing to mount a bicycle.[1][2]

Between then and 2007 other artists added new works to the project. 

The museum is a member of Alliance of Artists Communities. 

(From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

Ghost Rider

My Memory Art

51 thoughts on “Black and White Wednesday- Ghost Rider

  1. Fantastic idea, to get the empty shapes like that. This one is as weird as all-get-out, so the whole setting must be marvellous! Good one, Emilio! – thanks!

    Like

              1. I’m so pleased to hear that, Emilio! I love to comment when I actually have something to say; but I fear that sometimes I’m not totally charitable … Honest, but. 🙂

                Like

    1. You’re welcome, Adrienne. There is probably no good reason to visit Rhyolite except for this outdoor museum. The ghost town is almost totally razed. The bottle house still stands, though. But I didn’t take any photos of it. I’ll have to go back.

      Like

      1. I’m still thinking of taking that offer of buying both LR and PS on the Adobe Cloud. I still have LR 4. The reason I stopped using it was that I can do most everything with PS, so LR stopped having an appeal; it also has a learning curve of its own. Maybe I should trial it again.

        Like

  2. You did an excellent job with this. Captivating. Regarding Starbucks….I never go there. It just made a good photo!

    Like

  3. Incredible artistry ….!!! It’s beautiful in a ghostly manner. The technique sounds like the death masks they used in art at one time to capture the image of those who had passed away before photography.
    I always enjoy your out-of-the-box thinking when it come to photographing images. Emilio, well done !!!
    Isadora

    Like

    1. Thank you for some high compliments, Isadora. But most of my “out-of-the-box” thinking is purely accidental. I know Margaret Rose (a mutual follower- I follow her, she follows me) would not want me to confess that. But I think it is important to acknowledge!

      Like

  4. Oh wow Emilio! What a stunning shot and sculpture! I just love it and wouldn’t mind having one like this here in my garden. 😀

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

