Thursday’s Special: Of Cabbages and Kings

Prompts and Challenges

“The time has come,’ the walrus said, ‘to talk of many things: of shoes and ships – and sealing wax – of cabbages and kings’.” ~~ Lewis Carroll


Wordless WednesdayPaula, of Lost In Translation, said, “This is not a challenge; and there are no rules. I will not be giving you themes, but I am inviting you to share with me what inspires you, and makes you happy.”

This photo might not inspire me, but it certainly makes me happy. The Head of a Walrus over a fireplace is so strange and out of place that it makes me smile. I hate to admit I am a vegetarian so I can only hope it was never a real walrus!

17 thoughts on “Thursday’s Special: Of Cabbages and Kings

  1. 😆 I don’t know Emilio. .this setting is quite inspiring. Where did you find it? I love the way you shot it, photo not a Walrus :D. Marvelous!!! And, thank you 🙂

    Like

  2. What a fun still life! The top hat brings such whimsy to the walrus… and your poem is so apt. (I love that one). Now I’ll have to check out the link to this place. Might want to put it on my bucket list! It is a terrific shot.

    Like

  3. I love that it makes you smile, it looks like it is smiling too(so cute). You know what makes me smile and takes my breath away(besides my families health and happiness) is a beautiful quiet lake up in Northern Minnesota…..silence, except for a Loon calling!!! Perfection, Emilio!!

    Like

  4. Emilio -I can see why this picture makes you happy – and wow, besides all the stuff you mentioned – look at that fireplace!! the way it goes up the wall, but the ornate trim around the firebox!! The the out door lights and all that brick – and of course the door to the left – with the iron in the window seems to work with the mantle, table and trim around the firebox –
    lastly, the Carroll quote seemed custom for this photo. 🙂 nice….

    Like

    1. Once I saw the walrus, all I could think of was that quote. Curiously, This was one shot that was in the trash until i discovered Lightroom. Straight from the camera, the shot was so underexposed that there was no detail.

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

